Bahia Principe Luxury Samana

4.524.524.524.524.52
Bahia Principe Luxury Samana
#2 of 7 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Samana
4.52 based on 52 reviews
Traveller pictures (63)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

A

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-30
We had a great time. Excellent place , beach, food, stuff.
We will be back next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not Worth the Price

, Dunnville, ON
2019-03-14
You can drop the name 'Luxury' from the name Luxury Bahia Principe Samana.Basically, there are toooooo.. many stairs to climb. Yes they have an elevator. The cleaning staff were not great. They took our key card out of our air conditioning and when we got back into the room it was hotter than hell. They did not leave us enough water or coffee for our room. We always leave a daily tip for the cleaning staff but after a couple of days we cut back because of the above issues. They had nightly shows but spoke in Spainish. Hey guys 99.9% of your audience were English speaking. If you want to go into town to the market it will cost you $40U.S. and $40 U.S. back which I think is a rip-off. Go with a group and share the cost. The island that they advertise for free is within a boat ride from Samana. It is a nice beach but little shade. They have vendors on the island. Overall I did not like the place and besides it is an hour from the airport to the resort that's if you do not drop off people at other resorts. Your looking at 2 hours in that case. The food was good and that Thursday nite was Lobster nite in the buffet. The Lobster was terrible. However, the el carte restaurant (Brazilian food) was great. Don Paublo you can stick up the wazoo. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
Many

Will not visit again.

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-20
Having stayed at her sister hotel Cayo levantado which has how changed to a family hotel we tought we would try this Adult hotel.
First day arrived in afternoon all good, Reception good Room lovely, bottle Preseco waiting as it was our 25th anniversary great. Next day get up for breakfast, never seen such unhappy staff, not a smile to be seen. On to the one pool (we knew there as only one) alittle cool but geat. Then at about 9.30 they inflate a big island in the pool and start the exercises. So no pool for anyone else. Then the leave Bob Marley playing for the next few hours, no getting away for it because the speaker is in the downstairs lobby, so even if you go upstairs for a relax in bar you can here it just as well. Following day repeat of first day. Brazilian Restaurant good. My suggestion would be to put the speaker down by the pool bar, so the one end of pool and center lobby area does not get blasted by Bob Marley etc.
Found this to be unacceptable on what was suppose to be a relaxing holiday so on the forth day asked to be moved to Cayo Levantardo, $367cad more but well worth. These two hotels are like chalk and cheese, the only reason I see that this is a Luxury Bhia Principe is because it is Adults only. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice view but not much else to offer

, Laval, QC
2018-02-13
We booked this hotel for a one-week much awaited vacation end of January 2017. We were traveling with another couple and had reserved 2 junior suites with ocean view. Drive from Samana airport to hotel is about 1 hour and 20 minutes, arrived at hotel at about 4 pm. After filling out the paperwork we were informed that our room was not ready, when we asked how long it would be we were told “I don't know”. Our luggage was left in the lobby and we patiently waited to be called. We returned around 6 pm to find that our room was still not ready and still didn't know when it would be. Only at that point were we then informed that they did not have any junior suites available and we would be downgraded to a regular room for at least 2 days. Our problem did not seem to be unique because since we ended up spending a lot of time at the front desk we started speaking with several people who had or were having similar problems. I find there is something quintessentially wrong with a hotel who manages to mess up so many people's reservations.

We ended up getting 2 (standard) rooms at past 7pm and a promise of (hopefully) getting the rooms we had reserved the next day. We finally got our rooms around noon the next day, but this only after much arguing with the unfortunate employees at the front desk and the manager. We found this to be a very unpleasant experience as this was not how we had planned to start our vacation.

The information we pieced together was that many people were shipped to this hotel from nearby overbooked Bahia hotels and as an incentive were offered room upgrades. Was this done in an effort to fill up a hotel that (from several reviews I had read) was often only half-full? I guess there is nothing wrong with that, unless of course by doing so you are punishing the people who actually chose to stay in your hotel in the first place. After this unpleasant experience we won't be choosing this hotel again.

WHAT WE LIKED MORE:

-The hotel/rooms are very clean
-The view is awesome, and it's the nicest thing about this hotel
-The employees in all areas of the hotel who work very hard and very long hours
-The food at the buffet was quite good and in our opinion the buffet was the best restaurant option on the site
-The 4 evening shows they had during our 7-day stay were very nice

WHAT WE LIKED LESS:

-The beach is extremely small and the waters are very, very rough. The first day-and-a-half (and every night) access to the beach was closed off altogether and every day of our 7-day stay was a red flag day. I believe there is a free daily shuttle to a public beach on Cayo Levantado, we did not go as we did not see the point of paying for a resort and then having to go get hassled at a public beach.
-There is only 1 pool (not a very large one) and most of it is deep
-Smoking is allowed pretty much everywhere on the site, except inside your room (allowed on room balconies), the lobby and within the restaurants. There seemed to be a lot of smokers on the site and we found this to be a problem, especially the cigar smoking around the pool, which literally drove us away one day as we couldn't take it anymore (the day the guy selling cigars set up his table right next to our loungers and then proceeded to smoke his products non-stop). This has never been an issue for me at any other resort, but perhaps it's because this resort is very small.
-Another day it was the very loud music at the pool bar which forced us to move (I understand that it's so everyone around the pool can hear it, but maybe place another speaker at the other end of the pool so the people closest to the bar don't get their ears blasted off).
-The à la carte restaurants were not worth the bother you needed to go to in order to get reservations. Rodizio was ok, the food at Bella Italia was seriously over-salted and Don Pablo seriously over-rated.
-There isn't much in terms of activities and although the activities we took part in were fairly enjoyable, we found them to be very short (yoga, pool aerobics only lasted about 20-30 minutes)
-There's a jacuzzi but when we used it we found the water to be unpleasantly cold

So if you're thinking of going to this resort:
-Go for the view, go for the people, and for the decent buffet food and clean surroundings, if you don't mind the smoking and have no specific room requirements
-Don't go for the beach, the water, the activities, nor if you prefer a (mostly) smoke-free environment and expect your room reservations to be respected [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-the view -the hotel employees -decent buffet food -clean surroundings -nice shows
The weak points
-far from the airport -very small beach -very rough ocean -only 1 pool -limited activities
Certified

Enjoyed our week

, Cambridge, ON
2018-02-05
This is a very beautiful hotel. Location is perfect and the scenery is breathtaking! Front desk staff is very helpful and go out of their way to please, especially one of the managers, Jennifer. Cleaning staff does a great job and everything is spotless, minibar daily stocked with your preferences. Daily variety of activities all around and the evening entertainment is absolutely first class. Rolando is in charge of entertainment and you see and feel his love for his job. The buffet has an amazing variety of food for each meal and lots of fresh fruits...Elias makes awesome omelets, smoothies freshly made to your requests. Timings for each meal are great because they allow you to sleep in or just arrive late afternoon for lunch and rest before a late dinner. Snacks at 4 p.m. every day and variety of evening shows start a bit late but has perfect timing as there is always dancing afterwards and the beautiful evenings make you want to stay as long as you can in the open air and reluctantly drag yourself to bed in the wee hours of the morning. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location of the hotel, very friendly staff, high quality entertainment, amazing variety of food. Jose and Eliu serving in the buffet dining room are absolutely the best for quick service and genuine caring!! Dining in Don Pablo restaurant was great!
The weak points
The buffet staff needs better training to deal with a full room of guests. They are easily confused and forget the very basics of service. Most times coffee or water is barely hot. Beach is non existent when tide is high.
Certified

Relaxing couples trip

, Cambridge, ON
2018-01-17
This is small resort in size, but high in quality. The staff is very attentive, always willing to help, with a smile. The pool area is not as large as some resorts in the area, but was never crowded, you never had to reserve a pool chair, and the bar service was excellent. Thanks Jose! The small beach is well maintained with a small bar. Chairs are abundant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was absolutely fabulous. If you leave a meal hungry...its your own doing. The service at the resort is second to none.
The weak points
Beach is small, but adequate. Stairs...if you have mobility issues you may experience difficulties.
Certified

Third Visit

, Maitland, ON
2017-10-31
This was our third visit to this hotel. We had some post hurricane concerns but there were none. The only visible signs were a missing beach bar, and bottom stairs from the suite section (which were under repair during our week).
Since we were here before, we have a favourite section and floor where we like to be and this request was again met.
As the hotel was only about 30% full, not all restaurants were open for dinner every evening but every one was open at least once or twice during the week.
Service and servers were excellent at all venues.
If you want to get to the beach, the only way to get there is down and up approximately 80 steps from the pool level. The beach is narrow but the sand is beautiful and water temp is perfect. There are not enough palapas on the beach for shade so if you want one, get your towel out early.
The only somewhat negative comment is that the food at lunch at Las Olas restaurant is very slow in coming. I am not sure where it is prepared. The view from that patio however is beautiful.
Another great visit, and we will be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A beautiful view from almost every oceanfront room. The service. The food.
The weak points
Rooms in suite section are noisier as they are closest to the road and nightly outdoor entertainment.
Certified

Very Relaxing Vacation

, Dartmouth, NS
2017-04-18
my husband and I have just returned from a vey relaxing 7 days at this beautuful resort.This was our first stay at a Bahia Principe, and this resort met all of our expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
small - elegant - lovely room and view - good food- very friendly staff- nice gym and spa was lovely as well
The weak points
beach is small
Certified

Luxury Bahia Principe Samana

, Melbourne, ON
2016-03-20
This was our first time in Dominican Republic and our experience was very pleasent. The Luxury Bahia Principe Samana is a beautiful resort. The staff here is very polite and inviting. The house keeping and accomodations are second to none.
The only changes I would make would be,
1)Possibly adding a night club or bar that stays open past midnight
2)More activities for guests to interact such as beach volleyball games etc.
In closing I would highly tecommend this resort to anyone who is looking for first class service and accomodations and quiet relaxing get aways. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very Clean. Drinks are phenomenol, Food is plentiful and very good. Views are amazing.
The weak points
Kind of remote nothing to do in the immediate area of the resort. More interactive activities are needed. Needs more nightlife activities.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?