Viva Wyndham V Samana

Viva Wyndham V Samana
4.124.124.124.124.12
4.12 based on 179 reviews
#3 of 7 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Samana
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (58)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Small but beautiful resort

, Niagara Falls, ON
2020-04-10
Our stay at the Viva Wyndham Samana DR was fantastic. This is a small, quiet, resort. You won't find load music or people anywhere. The food was very good with lots of variety and we loved the fact that we didn't have to make reservations for the al a carte restaurants. We weren't too keen on the Seafood restaurant but enjoyed all others. All of the staff were super friendly and they obviously enjoy their jobs. The pool was beautiful and kept very clean. Fresh Pool/beach towels were always available. The room was very simple but had everything you could need, including a nice, spacious balcony with two comfy chairs,a table and beautiful view of the ocean and gardens. The bed was so comfortable, I wish I could have packed it in my suitcase and brought it home with me..LOL I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. I will be returning in 2021 and probably every year after that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gardens, pool, beach, staff, room, food, drinks, bed, location...this place is a GEM
The weak points
Seafood restaurant
Certified

Viva Wyndham V Samana

, Hastings, ON
2020-02-21
We had a wonderful time at this resort. The scenery is magnificent, surrounded by mountains and the ocean. It was smaller than other resorts we have been at, but it had everything we were looking for. The main buffet restaurant was open for all 3 meals and had a lot of variety. Although the beach-side lunch buffet had limited choices, it was good and convenient. We also enjoyed the 3 a la carte restaurants that offered many choices. There were only 2 bars but they were never too busy. We would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was just beautiful and clean. We walked every day for hours; and rather than walking by resort after resort, we were walking by houses, villas, non-developed green areas, etc. There was nightly entertainment and many activities.
The weak points
Although room service is included and encouraged, there was only one chair in the room and no table in our room. There is limited shade on the beach but we were able to get chairs each day.
Certified

BEWARE when charging to room!

, Saint Catharines, ON
2019-08-06
1. At the resort, my girlfriend and I met with our tour operator (who was an hour and a half late). He failed to inform us of our $75 USD in resort coupons. As requested of him by us, he went through our complete itinerary as well as his own binder with travel information. He guided us through protocols ranging from warnings to not drink tap water, hurricane immediate AND financial reimbursement protocol, and booking excursions. We even booked excursions with him. At no point did he explain resort coupons—despite our request to go through all travel documents, logistics, and finances.

2. I was overcharged by the resort's spa. I was offered a discounted price of $177 USD (all taxes and fees included) for a treatment since the spa was not busy. The amount was charged to the room. Upon checkout, the resort refused to honour the discounted price that I was told explicitly. They did not have any management or spa personal on site. They also refused to take a credit card number to deal with this another time. I ended up paying $259.14 CAD ($198.55 USD).

3. In a poorly worded email, the hotel manager claims I never accepted the discounted price. This is untrue. They also incorrectly claim that I was referred to the front desk for information about resort coupons. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-The hotel looked great -View and location was beautiful
The weak points
-Management -Bait and switch billing for spa

We Enjoyed our stay at the Viva Wyndham

, Orleans, ON
2019-06-20
This was our first time (June 8th – 15th) at the Viva Wyndham, Samana and we found it to be excellent. We arrived around 12:30 hrs., the check in was quick but our room was not ready. We enjoyed lunch and the beach. At approx.. 16:30 we returned to the lobby & an employee assisted us with our suitcases to our room. Our room (3rd floor, block #2) was nice & clean. The washroom layout is nice: Toilet, sink, good lighting and a large shower. We had 2 options for the shower: a hand held shower head or the rainfall type. The water pressure and hot water were always available. All electrical outlets in the room are 110 volts. The wardrobe has a code lock safe (no charge), shelves and hangers (11). There are a large umbrella and an iron/ironing board in the closet. The TV has many channels to select from. The patio door curtains are very opaque. The balcony is private (wall on both sides) clear glass railing which does not obstruct your view, 2 chairs small table and a wall rack to dry your clothing. There are light switches on both sides of the bed were handy when getting up at night. We had a king size bed that we found very comfortable. Our maid service was excellent & we had our fridge (2 beer, 2 soft drinks & 500 ml bottles of water) & bathroom towels/items... replenished when needed. Our maid created different towel ornaments on a daily basis. The free Wi-Fi in the room worked fine. The AC in the room worked fine, but they installed an AC movement sensor in the room and at night since you do not move the room got hot. I had to get up walk at the end of the bed to reactivate the AC and it would only last for approx.. 15 minutes. This sensor should be removed or be disconnected (timer) for the night hours if they absolutely want to keep it. This was the only negative for our room comfort. The food was very good at all the locations we ate: open air area Buffet (wide variety of meats, fish, pastas, breads, cheeses, fruits/vegetables, jams, ice cream, deserts, condiments, syrups, etc...) , lunch at beach area you had fast food type items available, we always went to the main buffet area for lunch and enjoyed the broader variety of food offered. All the food is displayed/offered at the right temperature (Hot or Cold). We went to the A La Carte restaurants and found all of them delicious. Our preferences were: (in order) Fusion, Seafood & Italian. We enjoyed that no reservation was needed. During the day only the beach bar is opened. At 5:00 PM the lobby/disco bar opens. The service at all the bars was excellent; we received our service with a smile. The pool was kept clean and the water was very clear throughout the whole day. We appreciated the locations of all the washrooms. All washrooms were monitored and kept clean. There did not seem to be any problems for anyone to obtain long chairs at the beach. We usually arrived early after our breakfast (08:30 hrs.) and always had the choice of long chairs & location. There are no sun umbrellas besides the few day beds & half-moon cocoon type shell. We moved our chair under the palm trees shade during the day. The location of the Wyndham is ideal for beach walkers. You can walk either way (East/West) for long distances. We preferred to walk to the right as the slope on the beach is minimal compared to the left side. The Beach is very nice, ocean water mostly calm & clear. We did not see any salespersons on the beach. We did not attend any night shows. The guests are mostly from USA, Canada & Europe. The hotel is very quiet, no loud music/noise at night. The gym has a good variety of exercise equipment (cardio weights) and the AC is really appreciated. I had a 80 min. massages at the Whispers Spa and they were very relaxing. We found the hard working resort personnel to be wonderful, friendly & always give you an excellent service with a smile. My spouse and I will definitely return to the Viva Wyndham V, Samana as we had an excellent vacation at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Adult only & Quiet, good food & served at right temperature, service with a smile, able to take nice walks on beach (mostly right side)
The weak points
No sun umbrellas on beach AC has a sensor that shuts the AC in room at night since no movement in room. You must get up to reactivate AC.
Certified

A True Paradise

, Halifax, NS
2019-04-10
Hard working, friendly staff that made me feel very welcome (Santos from the buffet/snack bar, Venecia and Christina from housekeeping, Jose, Chocolate and Joe from the playmakers were all amazing), stunning views of the pool and ocean, varied food that tasted good. There's a lot to do if you want to be active, but it's very peaceful and relaxing if you would prefer some serious R&R. I will be coming back to this resort in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, staff, a la carte food, playmakers, activities, quiet and relaxing, bali beds, beach and pool, grounds are immaculate and no mosquitoes.
The weak points
The gift store is very tiny, the walking paths can be very slippery when they get wet.
Certified

Relaxing vacation

, Algonquin Highlands, ON
2019-02-18
We travelled as a group of four to this adults only boutique hotel! Our trip got off on a slow start as our flight was delayed 5.5 hours. We arrived at 6:30 pm local time to the airport and were welcomed quickly to our transport. Our 25 min ride to the hotel went quickly and once at the Viva we got our keys and were moved into our rooms. A crappy start ended well as we were upgraded (not our request)to the plunge pool room 1134 in the first building.
Rooms are smallish but clean and always had hot water and lots of it. Air conditioner worked very well.
No reservations for a la cartes and no dress code are just a few features that keep this a casual relaxing hotel. Pool is clean and sparkling and beach is breathtaking! Great for walking and swimming although the first couple of days were a little rainy so made the water a bit rough.
The hotel is perfect for anyone wanting a quiet holiday. Not a ton of activities day or night but some if you want to participate.
Food was good. Not fabulous but always lots to choose from. A la cartes were quite good but could take a little time to get through 2 hours or so.
We also found it necessary to reserve loungers on beach or pool each morning. I believe it was a busy week so it paid to get up before 7 and grab a lounger. No towel cards needed for towels. Towels were always being replenished by staff so not hard to get a dry one.
We went on the whale watching excursion and as on a previous trip to Samana,we loved it! Saw so many whales and their calves!
Loved our trip and hated to head home at the end. We actually left early and arrived back in Toronto 40 mins ahead of time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool, staff, cleanliness, drinks, plunge pool rooms!
The weak points
Food. Would have been nice to have a lobby bar for drinks before and after dinner. There is a disco but not a lot of seating.

Paradise

, Kanata, ON
2019-02-10
This was our first stay in Samana. This is a small intimate resort of 179 rooms. We stayed in the newly built bungalows. This resort has a great Zen vibe. It never felt busy even at full capacity. 25 minutes from Samana airport. Staff are very accommodating. The beach, surf and view are breath taking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach and surf. Good food. Not a crowded feel. Staff are very accommodating. We would definately go back.
The weak points
Bungalows were new so there are some kinks to work out. Any issues with housekeeping were quickly addressed.
Certified

Viva Wyndham, Samana from Montreal vacationer

, Kirkland, QC
2019-01-28
The hotel was beautiful. Super clean, and modern feel. Didn't feel like an older resort that needed updating. Cleaning staff was super friendly. It was like a spa-like feel. The pool was pretty zen and relaxing. We never stayed at the pool because the beach was gorgeous. The water was clear, NO seaweed and the it was sandy and clean. Loved, loved the beach. We went there because we were guaranteed great weather, and we got that. NO rain at all. The food was okay. Simple menus. I have to say that there was no extravagance when it came to the food selection. But the beach and pool view from our room was amazing and that is what we wanted. I recommend this place if you want a quiet, clean resort with great service!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great time

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-19
My spouse and I had a wonderful time at this resort. It was quiet, yet enough activities to stay busy. We traveled outside of the resort to see other areas of the province which we also enjoyed. The entertainment staff were wonderful and really made a difference for us on our vacation. The resort is beautiful and not overcrowded, however food needs major improvement. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds, cleanliness, beach is clean and not overcrowded, Staff are fantastic. I would give this resort 5 stars if the food was better.
The weak points
Food needs major improvement. Room on first floor had musky smell - guests get up early and put towels on chairs hours before they even use - some guests were not able to find a spot on the beach/ pool for several days while empty chairs sat with towels
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Welland, ON
2018-11-25
The resort was clean and the staff very friendly. The food was good but the highlight was the beach. It was wonderful and secluded. We would definitely go back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location and great value
The weak points
Internet is a little slow
Certified

Gem of a resort

, Yarker, ON
2017-10-09
Was apprehensive about going to DR again due to previous bad experiences but this resort changed my opinion. Resort is small & absolutely beautiful setting. Picture perfect.
Hotel staff are very friendly & enthusiastic. They were always saying hello & asking if everything was ok. They would ask if you wanted to participate in activities but were never pushy. We arrived late due to flight delay & hotel had buffet still open for us which was very much appreciated.
Room is basic but clean & very comfortable bed. Huge shower in bathroom with rain shower head plus shower head with more power if desired.
Our departure was also late so for additional $50 we were able to keep our room until 5pm. That way were able to enjoy the resort even longer.
Food was very good. No reservations required for a la cartes which was great. We were in low season so 2 restaurants open at night on a rotating basis. There were 3 a la cartes plus the buffet. Not sure if more than 2 open for dinner during high season. Our one daughter does not eat meat except fish so her choices were little limited but she never went hungry. Wifi was included & available throughout the resort although it was hit & miss.
Beautiful long beach but very strong waves in ocean. Not sure if that is normal for area or result of recent hurricanes. Only 1 pool so if resort was full it could get crowded. No swim-up bar but there was waiter service from the bar at the beach. Pool deck was tile so had to be very careful when walking as it was very slippery when wet. Saw 1 person fall & many slip.
Did not use the facilities of the spa so can't comment on it although it was set apart from the hotel in a beautiful forest setting.
Resort is less than 30 minutes from airport. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful clean surroundings. Friendly staff. No vendors on beach. Small intimate resort. No reservations for restaurants required. Adults only. Wifi included.
The weak points
Limited number of umbrellas around pool. May be difficult to get loungers at pool if resort at capacity. Tiles around resort very slippery. Staff speak limited English. Speak mostly Spanish & French.
Certified

New viva wyndham

, Ingersoll, ON
2016-02-28
Viva wyndham is a beautiful resort. The Al la cartes were excellent with the exception of Mar Y Feugal. We found it to have a very long wait time and we did not enjoy our food when it arrived. The staff are very friendly and work very hard to please all quests. As nice as this resort is, we did not enjoy our vacation as much as others. We found that there was very little activity and entertainment at this resort. It is extremely quiet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food
The weak points
No entertainment. We became bored at times

Nice and relaxing

, Gatineau, ON
2016-02-16
We had a nice and relaxing week at Viva. The place is very clean, the staff is really helpfull and the temperature was perfect (hot, hot, hot). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Did not have to reserve for 'a la carte'. The room are clean and the hotel site also. Wifi works perfectly.
The weak points
I would add another bar during the day or more services at the pool.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020