Brisas Santa Lucia

Brisas Santa Lucia
3.383.383.383.383.38
3.38 based on 788 reviews
#3 of 5 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Santa Lucia (Camaguey)
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (172)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Hola

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-15
My husband and I just returned from a fabulous 2 weeks at Brisas Santa Lucia.
This is our 4th visit to this resort. As always we had a great vacation and no complaints. Everything went smoothly from departure from Toronto till arrival in Camaguay. Weather was a bit breezy for a few days but no problem still swam in the ocean everyday, water as warm as bathtub.Carlito and Rolly still as entertaining as ever. Spent one day on a tour of Camaguay which was very injoyable our guide Edwardo was excellent and had all the information.Used bikes at the Hotel daily and enjoyed that very much. Rented scooters and went to Cocao beach which was also beautiful. Enjoyed alacarte dinners. The dinner for repeaters was also excellent. Thanks to all the staff for a great vacation and hope to see you all next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff is excellent beach very nice pool clean rooms dated but very clean and comfortable. maid service very good girls friendly
The weak points
sometimes hard to get small bills from front desk for tipping no that there is no longer a bank but you can go to the bank at the commercial centre next door.
Certified

Great resort will return

, Montréal, QC
2018-03-09
the hotel at the resort is clean, friendly staff, cheery colours, many ways to get around by oneself or with others.Prices for tours and excursions are within a good range. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All staff is friendly and willing to help.Pool was always clean as were the grounds.
The weak points
The last time I was there, at the pool there was continuous entertainment with challenges,aqua fitness,dance lessons. This time there was extremely little There was water leaking in and out on the bathroom.
Certified

Lovely first visit to Cuba.

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-09
The staff was very friendly, and most were tri-lingual (spanish, english, and french). Everyday the grounds were cleaned and maintained and the beach and gardens were breath taking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Multi-lingual, friendly staff. Various food selections. Beautiful beach and gardens. Snorkling right off of the beach. Easy access to excursions.
The weak points
The hotel and rooms were in need of some repair. The plates in the dinning hall were visibly scummy. The entertainment was for about 2 hours in the day and 1 hour in the evening. They rarely engaged the guests in an physical activity.
Certified

Great team and resort

, Montréal, QC
2018-03-03
February 2018
We had an amazing week at Brisas Santa Lucia. From our arrival until our departures we have been treated like Royals. The resort is very clean. The landscaping is well taking care off. The team of staff are very nice respecful helpful and very smiley. We want to specially thank Julia the host of the entertainment. She is amazing. She is very friendly and has a beautiful family. She always makes sure that all the guest are well and enjoying their stay. Luigi as well. Very nice person. Takes care to talk to all guest. Also Mrs. Ania from public relation is very helpful. Mrs Juana the nurse is very nice. Lilian who took care of our room has been very helpful. Another special thanks for El nene (Giovanni) he goes extra steps to serve his guest. We will return and we do recommend Brisas Santa Lucia. We enjoyed so much we had fun. Great people great ambiance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
At the buffet not a lot of food choices but the food tastes good. You pay for the safty deposit box 2 CUC per day. No iron. Only 2 bottle of water for your stay. You can refill them at the bar with filtered water. Not much drawers to fit our clothes.
Certified

Great New Year's Vacation

, Holland Centre, ON
2018-01-20
A wonderful vacation experience as a group of 8. (Ages 16, 18,19,20,23,46, 46, 47) Something for everyone to do, coffee bar, ice cream shack, 24 hour drinks and snacks. Activities on the beach and at the pool. What could be a better new year's eve than being in a sundress, bare feet and dancing in foam on the sand? Spent Jan 1 on a catamaran at Playa Bonita snorkeling and swimming in the ocean. Did the Croco-Rancho tour, highly recommend it. Took a horse and buggy tour to the nearby villages and walked to the commercial center. Rooms were cleaned daily, good beds, hot water all the time. Totally recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms, lots of activity, pretty good food for cuba.
The weak points
Long drive from the airport. Loud around the pool (I did not mind, however could be for some), wifi is 1CUC for 1 hour if available, not a problem for myself as I'm on vacation.
Pro

Thank you Brisas!

, New Tecumseth, ON
2017-04-30
This hotel is great. We had a great week.
Everything from the lobby staff to the cleaning lady of our room. Entertainers were great. People are so friendly. Loved the food. Very tasty.
I would so go back there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff. Everyone is always smiling, helpful.Tasty food.
The weak points
The airport ride a bit long.

Great Staff

, Vankleek Hill, ON
2017-04-24
At less than 100$ a day (all inclusive) you can't really complain. Very friendly staff, they make this place a 4 star. Rooms are dated but very clean. Grounds are immaculate. The beach does have sea grass, lots of fish, great snorkelling. No complaints about the food, lots of variety.
The entertainment staff is great. Kudos to all the staff! We will be back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff!! A lot a return customers because of the staff.
The weak points
King size bed need fitted sheets. New pillows (we bring our own) and comforter would be needed.

Brisas santa Lucia

, Innisfil, ON
2017-04-14
Will go back again and again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

BRISAS AGAIN

, Kitchener, ON
2017-03-06
being spoiled in 4 - 5 stars and adults only resort it is difficult to be objective in opinion; this resort is over advertised as to the rating, renovated and enlarged seems to be crowded and needs a lot of handy man work, beside that suitable for families with kids, provides a lot of activities for all ages [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
activities and programs
The weak points
need a lot of little repairs , crowded
Certified

Great place for the price

, Vankleek Hill, ON
2017-02-22
The staff is what makes this place so special. The beach is nice and shallow great for kids and seniors. Lots of snorkelling close by (so yes there is sea grass) Coral ref is a must. Very quiet area, not much shopping, only 2 after hour bars but worth the visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The entertainment staff, staff in general very friendly. Great snorkelling, in shallow waters, no big waves. Coral ref lots of fish too see. Best coffee at the coffee bar. Churros by the pool.
The weak points
Bring your own pillows, as theirs are thin. King size bed did not have fitted bottom sheets. Regular coffee at the A la carte restaurants to go with your dessert would be nice (but not a issues as I prefer a Spanish coffee).

Fabulous family vacation!

, Simcoe, ON
2016-12-31
We took a family of 7 for Christmas and would recommend this hotel to amyone travelling with children. We were given adjoining rooms, which made our experience great from the start. My husband and I have travelled to cuba before and this resort is our favourite by far! The food on the buffet could be a little hotter but that would be our only suggestion. The nightly shows were the best we've seen and the entertainment staff were so friendly. The kids club was so much fun for the kids. Our children were upset to leave Carlito and come home. It was an experience we will never forget! Unfortunately WiFi and internet access is a huge problem for the people of Camaguey Cuba and therefore accessing money from a visa card was an issue. Next time we'll just take more cash. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The entertainment staff including Judy were the greatest. They're like family now. The grounds are clean and well kept. The beach is beautiful!
The weak points
The buffet food is cool.
Certified

Enjoyable week !!!

, Brantford, ON
2016-05-05
My husband and I returned April 7, 2016
after spending a wonderful week at the Brisas Santa Lucia resort. We enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms were a bit dated but served their purpose fine. Never had a problem finding something to eat. The alacarte dinners
were very good Especially enjoyed the
paella.The beach with its fine white sand and warm water was great. Carlitos of the entertainment team was amazing and kept the crowd entertained in the evening and by the pool during the day.
Rented scooters and had a good afternoon just sightseeing and also used the bicycles which are free. Enjoyed our visit to Cocoa Beach also. Our whole experience at Brisas Santa Lucia was a positive one, we would recommend to others.It is a good value for the price. Forgot to mention the weather was fabulous. Hope to return soon. Thanks to all the staff !!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, entertainment crew, excursions available,
The weak points
If you go just remember it is Cuba and you will enjoy it !!!!!
Certified

Not too bad

, Trenton, ON
2016-03-25
booked this hotel for a relaxing getaway and that was a success. Drive from airport is approx. 90 minutes. No beer sold on bus like other places we have gone so buy your beer before boarding bus if you want it. Check in was not bad...we moved through the line at a decent pace. It was nice that the buffet was kept open til 10pm to allow us to grab something to eat. We had emailed the hotel prior to arrival and they did a good job at meeting our room request. Room was decent..we found 3 English channels to choose from. while they we noticed they are upgrading to flat screen tvs which is nice. It was a bit frustrating that the gift shop closed at 5pm each day so if you needed anything, too bad. After supper, there is no snack bar and not even an option to buy snacks if you wanted at the bars.
Our room had bed bugs. I thought I was being bit by something else but then I got the flu so stayed in our room for a couple of days and it got much worse.
The food isn't too bad. We would eat the spaghetti and pizza a lot that was made in the buffet restaurant. So we never starved. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We contacted hotel prior to arrival and they met our request for room location. -pleasant staff -food was decent -nobody on beach pushing you to buy things -wifi was really good in lobby and price was fair at 2 pesos per hour
The weak points
-gift shop closes at 5 so if you need anything too bad -no snack bar or anywhere to grab food after supper if hungry -bed bugs
Certified

Gold star Service

, Ottawa, ON
2016-03-19
The hotel is a 4 star but the service is a 5. This was our 2nd visit; our first was in March 2014. Since then, some rooms have had new air conditioning units installed, new flat-screen TV, the furniture re-finished and fresh coats of paint. The Cuban and Seafood restaurants are both delicious and, if you travel with air Transat, you are treated to a BBQ on the beach where the chicken and pork were bbq'ed to perfection! The buffet has a great pasta/pizza bar, wonderful grill and fantastic soup station. We enjoyed chicken and pork, beef, beef liver, rabbit and lamb, not to mention fresh fish and shrimp. Of course, there are side dishes that are part of every meal, such as rice, beans, shredded cabbage, and multiple types of deli meats.

The lounge chairs around the pool have almost all been replaced with new ones and those at the beach, some of which are showing their age, are on order and scheduled for replacement by 2017 per hotel staff. The beach is wonderful and the sea weed that washes up daily is also removed daily. For a fee, you can take banana rides and something called a "couch" ride, both were you are pulled behind a jet ski.

One of the best things about this hotel is the ability to snorkel right off the shore. Star fish were among the scores of interesting fish you can see from just beyond the buoys. At the Marlin beach booth, you can arrange for a catamaran to take you direct from the hotel beach out to the reef where you can see beautiful coral, scores of fish, shells and even sand rays. Well worth the trip, but a word of advice... bring your own life jackets because Marlin's are old and worn and are in need of being replaced.

Finally, it is the people that make Brisas what it is. From the waiters and waitresses, to the chefs and cooks that work behind the hot grills, to the bar tenders, to the coffee bar ladies, to the ice cream lady, to housekeeping, to the "churros" maker standing for hours in front of a vat of hot oil making yummy treats in 30 degrees, to the gardeners, and security staff, everyone we came across said hello with a smile and did their best every day to make our holiday positive and memorable. They appreciate you choosing their hotel and really look forward to your return. Take the time to smile back and get to know some of them. You will soon find out that many have been there since the hotel first opened or just after, and are still there doing a great job. You will realize why so many guests return time and time again. With sincere thanks to Birmania and José in Public Relations, you really helped us enjoy our vacation. And, Alexandre in security, Magalie at the bar, Maria in housekeeping and Daryl at the buffet, and the rest of the Brisas team, Gracias! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, value for money, size of hotel (just right), proximity of room to everything, snorkeling off of beach, 2nd largest reef in the world very close-by, dive-centre on-site, entertainment, Cuban people, public Relations Team.

BRISAS SANTA LUCIA BEACH CUBA

, Brantford, ON
2016-03-01
Well, they overbooked me and a few others the first night and sent us next door to another resort. It was 1:30 in the morning so I really just needed a pillow and I was good. Next day by 4:00 we were settled in our prebooked rooms in the Brisas resort. Had a fabulous 2 weeks. Great weather, the moon, good food and good service. Always a pleasure at this hotel. :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people. I've been going to this resort for 3 years. I've been going to Santa Lucia Beach since 1986. I always come back for the people.
The weak points
Others expecting CUBA to be like home. It's NOT. Relax and you will enjoy yourself.
Certified

First all inclusive vacation for us

, Mcdougall, ON
2016-02-16
Our rooms and the grounds were kept spotless. The furniture was a bit antiquated however, the cleanliness made up for it. The staff were all very friendly and had a knack for remembering special orders for a multitude of vacationers. The food was not gourmet but neither of us ever went hungry. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly staff
Certified

Brisas Santa Lucia

, Hamilton, ON
2016-01-28
Spent a week in Jan at the Brisas and had a great time. Staff were very friendly and accomadating. The grounds are very well kept and our room in
building No 11 was perfect for us.
The Buffet restuarant was as always very busy and loud however the service seems to have improved along with the selection of foods available.
Had two meals at the Al a carte one seafood and one Cuban again the service was very good, even when we lost Hydro we were still being taken care of and made the most of it.
The beach and pool were lovely and although I found it to cold to enjoy
the water just being able to kick back and relax by the water was enough for me
We will return to this Resort and bring our friends the next time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and friendly atmosphere
The weak points
Long ride from the Airport but worth the time
Certified

Great resort

, Stoney Creek, ON
2016-01-26
We recently returned from Brisas Santa Lucia on Jan 22. Booked this resort because of price. Resort was very, very clean. Pool was great. Beach was great as well. Staff was friendly.

I went for the diving. Dove almost every day at Shark's friends. It is on the grounds of the resort. Great dive center. I have dove with them in the past. Dove at the reefs as well as 2 wrecks. Did the shark dive twice but came up empty both times.

Did a lot of horseback riding as well. Rode several days. Got to ride through town, on the beach and as a special treat, we rode the horses down the beach, took off the saddles and rode them bareback into the ocean for a swim. The horses seemed to enjoy that.

Went on a tour to the King Ranch. Took us through an actual Cuban town. We went into a school and spoke to the students (as best as we could). If you go and take this tour, please, please take school supplies for the kids. The school is grade 1 to grade 4. Pencils, coloured pencil crayons, notebooks would all be appreciated.

There is the buffet as well as 3 a la carte restaurants. You can visit the a la carte restaurants once each during the week. We were there for 2 weeks so got to eat at each twice. The buffet has a large selection of food and good quality. The seafood restaurant was good. We are not seafood people but they had fish as well as a chicken alternative. The Cuban restaurant was very good as well. The International restaurant (labelled the Italian restaurant) was something else. I got to visit it twice in the second week. May have been one of the best dinners I've ever had while travelling!!!! The chicken breast in fruit sauce was AMAZING!!!!!

Trouble in getting WiFi at resort. Talk to your provider before you leave.

Did receive a lot of bites from what we believe were sand fleas but not sure. Take a good insect repellent with DEET. That may help.

All in all, I would highly recommend this resort for a vacation!!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean resort. Always doing landscaping. Staff was friendly. I personally found the food very good though some don't like it. Great proximity for scuba diving. Horseback riding right on the beach.
The weak points
Don't have any
Certified

First Vacation I booked for my daughter

, Brampton, ON
2016-01-15
The hotel it's self was run down. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Resort in Santa Lucia

, Cambridge, ON
2015-07-16
this resort is best hotel in this city
food and services are ok
but too much mosquito
should bring you own mug with you [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It is the best Hotel nice people right in this area Best price for fishing and riding horse easy negotiation in this area people
The weak points
too much mosquito too much seaweed beside beach
Certified

Below Expectations

2015-04-11
1. We could hear people on the other room talking loudly
2. Drawers of the dresser didn't work very in both our rooms.
3. I asked the reception to bring two singles beds in my children's room instead of the king size they had and they never did that.
4. No coffee, water or pop in the room. Only one bottle of water the first day. We had to fill it up at the bar.
5.Ocean water very dirty- too much sea weeds
6.Sometimes there was no seat at the beach or pool, even though many people were at the bars. So, I had the impression that the beach and pool capacity was smaller than the hotel capacity.
5.Variety of food poor
Overall service - 3 * [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
small resort everything close
The weak points
overall
Certified

Bisas Santa Lucia

, Mississauga, ON
2015-04-08
My cousin and I spent one week at this hotel in March 19, 2015. It was my first time in this Resort, but my cousin was her 2nd time. I don't have that much high expectations as Faye already explained to me. when we arrived at the hotel, they checked in us in 3rd floor room which is the not bad, but the following day we changed our room to ground floor and it's not that bad. The washroom was okay except the toilet and it's need a little to be fixed. Overall, my expectations were generally alright and we had a fun and relaxing week away. The most good thing was the staffs, some of them nice and some don't smile. But I like the Bartenders, and older lady in the buffet restaurant with short hair is so nice, the entertainers, Rolly and Calexto are both very friendly and gentle. The coffee shop, the alacarte restaurant were all very nice, the front desk too are nice I'd like Melly. One thing more I really like the barbeque, and the Cuban night, the food was very in the Buffet, the setting arrangement. Thank you so much for all of the Hotel staffs and I have no hesitation of going back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good.
The weak points
A little more improvement.
Certified

Great March Break At Brisas Santa Lucia

, New Tecumseth, ON
2015-03-30
Another great week at Brisas Santa Lucia. This was my 18 visit to this resort, and 24 times to Cuba! I love this place mainly because of the very friendly staff and Cuban people in the area. There are only 4 main hotels in the area, so you get to make friends easier. If you go out to the local bar/clubs and restaurants in the area, then you get to see the real Cuba. You can borrow one of the hotel bicycles for 1 hour free and tour the area. As it was March break week it was busy, we usually go off season but all was good, clean, and great entertainment. They have introduced happy hour at the coffee bar (quiz and musicians) in the afternoon, and also early evening at the theater (quiz, musicians, dance performance). That was a nice touch I hope they keep it up even in low season. It was difficult to get sun loungers on the beach or the pool, and it would be nice if they could get more for the busy season. They have been renovating, so the coffee bar has been extended and a makeover, as well as the lobby bar. They have also finished installing new air conditioners in one block so far. The only problem I heard from a few guests, was the room requests. A few people I talked to had requested with their tour operator in Canada lower floor rooms as elderly and had health issues, and when they got to the hotel they were given second floor rooms. This has happened to us many times before in Cuba at many resorts, when we have asked to be in same block as our friends. It is not just this resort that has this problem. There needs to be a better way to communicate the room requests. For further information and questions please join “Brisas Santa Lucia” group on Facebook. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Safe friendly small resort with great entertainment especially during the day as it is high season. Resort is slowly being updated and rooms will have new air conditioning this year. One block has already been done.
The weak points
Not enough sun loungers on beach or pool for high season.

New year vacation

, Napanee, ON
2015-01-10
It was overall a relaxing holiday . If we were to make recommendations they would include the following (in no particular order );
Beach clean up by staff should occur in the early morning to ensure that vacationers don't have to jump over mounds of seaweed and debris throughout the day.
Additional garbage bins around to throw out trash.
Walking platforms to the beach need to be fixed as they are not very safe.
Bottled water was not readily available for consumption. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
resort is small and easy to navigate. Relatively clean, staff is generally friendly and the excursions were fun and affordable. The restaurNts at the resort were all excellent.
The weak points
additional staffing for booking excursions, exchanging money, check in/out -check out time was far to early on our departure date -no window screen in the room - the safe should be included in the all inclusive.
Certified

Great Holiday Season Stay, overall

, Oakville, ON
2015-01-01
We were two families and spent the holiday season at Brisas Santa Lucia. It is an old hotel and it obviously needs renovating but it is very clean and the staff very attentive and welcoming.

The people in the Public Relations office opposite the Reception Area are very responsive and most issues I reported got dealt with almost immediately. They just could not fix the problem with the telephone line in my room, which was not critical for someone who is on vacation.

Like all other resorts, there was some form of entertainment or other throughout the day, mostly by the pool. The food at the buffet restaurant was diversified enough and there was fresh fish (to my delight) every day. Fresh tropical fruit juice along with the fruits themselves was plentiful as well. There were three additional restaurants open for supper but you need to make reservations. The snack bar by the pool was open most of the time.

I guess the pool fans were very happy with it as they started dumping their towels on the chairs as early as 7:30am. Myself, as usual, I left pool time to Ontario and enjoyed the beach, with its fairly warm, clear waters, instead. Yes, there were tons of algae along the sand with a few floating in the water but that that simply added to the beauty of the natural landscape and did not bother me at all.

Snorkelling, paddle boats were included in the package so my wife and I enjoyed them too and so did my teenage girls. As the resort received more and more guests that would stay for the New Year, the beach chairs would become unavailable very quickly but we could walk a few meters to next resort (which for some reason or other did not have as many guests) and were allowed to use their chairs.

It is their winter at this time of the year so it can be windy (maybe that is why the hotel is called "Brisas" = breeze) by the beach at times but nothing compared to the nasty winds in our own winters. The temperature could reach 29'C but never went down below 23-24 at night. I stayed under the beach hut (in the shade) when the sun got really hot and in the water most of the time.

Do not miss the welcome session with your tour agent (ours was Sunwing) at the hotel as she / he gives you helpful information to make the most of your stay. Be particularly AWARE of the CUC 25.00 (Cuban Convertible Pesos) per resort towel in case you lose them. Due to that, a tourist that lost his towel may "inadvertently" yours when your not looking to avoid the fine. That actually HAPPENED to us when we came back from a snack just to realize that one of our towels went missing and, unlike the "friendly" tourist I mentioned, we did the right thing and paid fine (CAD 31.00) before we left the resort.

Late night activities happened outside the resort in an outdoor Cuban dance club (no entrance fee). It is within walking distance (5-10 min) from the resort. The resort disco (as my teenage girl reasonably pointed out) "sucks" and there was hardly anyone there. There is a special Fiesta Blanca ("white party") that happens on the beach (also outside the resort) where the young people gather to dance. Yes, there are drinks so we followed our teens. Everyone had fun under the starry skies.

We purchased from Sunwing their Last-Day-at-Camaguay tour of the historical city. It is very much worth the price and at the end you get VIP passes to a skip-the-crowd check-in and a reserved area for free drinks and snacks and hot sandwiches.

Overall we had a great, great time at Brisas Santa Lucia. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and staff
The weak points
Hotel needs some renovation

Not Very Impressed

, Hamilton, ON
2014-11-21
The condition of the rooms were not very good. There were thousands of ants in our room. We also had probably the worst maid at the resort. My wife and I never complain. Not once where ever we've been and usually try to outweigh the negatives with positive ones but at Brisas we just couldn't do it. I would not waste my money there ever again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The drinks are good and the staff are friendly
The weak points
The resort is extremely tired and in need of repair. Maid service is pathetic
Certified

Week in paradise

, Gatineau, QC
2014-11-10
Great place to be. Helpful & smiling staff. Some snorkeling off the shore at the right corner of the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great helpful smiling crew. Nice beaches.
The weak points
Will check for it on next trip
Certified

18TH TIME TO BRISAS SANTA LUCIA

, Beeton, ON
2014-10-22
Another great week at Brisa's Santa Lucia. This was our 3rd time this year and cannot wait to go back. Entertainment staff are working extra hard to make your stay as fun and enjoyable as possible. Service staff are very friendly as always, but at times they are short staff so expect a longer wait for drinks at bar and restaurants. Weather hot 34 and sunny. Water temperature in pool and sea perfect. For more information and for all you Brisa's Santa Lucia Lovers join my Facebook group Brisas Santa Lucia Lovers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great value for money resort/area, exceptionally friendly staff which makes it home from home. Food selection was good considering it is Cuba with less resources. If you want to go to a safe and friendly place Brisas Santa Lucia is for you.
The weak points
They are doing maintenance as low season righ now to improve the resort without too much disruption. Could do with a few extra staff at bars and resturants.
Certified

3rd Time !!

, Lasalle, QC
2014-10-06
Great quality price.
Fun in the sun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff Animation Shows beach Pool
The weak points
Room Bathroom Drink options
Certified

Brisas santa lucia sept.26/14 to oct.3/14

, London, ON
2014-10-05
booking was for 7 days but when you arrive at the hotel on friday evening at 9.30 pm and leave the following friday at 5.30 am in my book that is not seven days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good weather nice pool
The weak points
pool closes to early in the evening. no stores as such to do any shopping. to far from air port.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Santa Lucia (Camaguey)'s best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Couples Families Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020