Traveller pictures (125)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Santa Lucia

, Toronto, ON
2019-05-30
My first time at this resort. Suites are spacious, modern and everything was working except safe deposit box. Personal is very friendly and they really try to please. Food...not much of a selection and rather repetitive. Overall I had a great time and enjoyed my week stay. In my opinion Caracol is the best resort in Playa Santa Lucia. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Accommodation, beach and service
The weak points
Food not the greatest
Certified

Hotel Caracol

, Niagara Falls, ON
2019-03-08
Overall pretty good vacation time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Lots of flies inside the restaurant, room maintenance: peeling paint, poor tv reception.
Certified

Caracol Santa Lucia

, Oshawa, ON
2019-01-09
It's a nice little resort , Friendly staff, Good selection of food, Nice rooms, Beach very calm waters but logs of seedweeds wash up on the beach, Bar selection are not the best, Night restaurant are never really open, Everyone expects you to tip them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice rooms, Decent entertainment.
The weak points
The gym not operational most of the equipment is not working,
Certified

Great little resort!

, Deux Montagnes, QC
2018-04-30
We loved this little resort and will definitely go back. Animation team was great (they do speak better English than French) but are friendly! Great service at bars, buffet. Our room in top shape. I couldn't ask for better and was pleasantly surprised for all services received. Thanks again to the Bravo Staff - well done! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, great service, beach Decent buffet food (fresh veggies & HOT meals!)
The weak points
Security needs to handle non hotel guests on their section of beach. Premium booze N/A (maybe management can offer this for a small fee).
Certified

Happy Repeat Guests

, Renfrew, ON
2018-04-11
My husband and I have been going to this hotel since 2004. We were very happy with all the new renovations. Rooms have been completely redone, new shower stalls with rain forest shower heads, new mattresses, new curtains that close, new fans in sitting room and new banisters on the balconies.
The staff was always what made this place so special. Under the new management style of Nivia and her girl power team of Elia Rosa, Lizbeth,Jen, Matilde and Dalmarys, the staff is thriving. She has made everyone accountable to keep the clients happy and they are having fun doing it. I saw more smiles from the staff than ever before.

The dining room is spotless, the food is hot and plentiful, so many choices every night on the grill, on the buffet, at the pasta bar, at the desert bar. It was fabulous! Irma did affect how many bananas and beets we saw, but they did their best to find some!

No more shortages at the bar, except for some red wine shortages a few times. Spanish coffees are always excellent, with Jorgito at the Lobby bar making the best ones I had!

The entertainment staff works tirelessly to keep everyone involved, but if you chose not to participate, they respect that. From 10am on the beach until 11 pm at night, they keep you involved, except for small breaks at lunch and diner time. Even then,you can find them socializing in the dining room, making sure everyone is looked after.

Rooms and all common areas are kept spotless by the housekeeping staff.

If you have been before, you know that David gives the best massages anywhere! If you've never been...book quickly! He is a busy man!

The beach is cleaned every day, sometimes twice a day. The seagrass that comes in with the wind is taken away, and I suggest water shoes to make your entry easier. It's a snorkeler's paradise!

The highlight for me, is the music. Caracol has always had good musicians, but this time...the best ever! Simply so talented!

And...if you are a repeat guest, please take the time to attend the repeat guest diner. Jen puts on a great night, and the cooks outdo themselves!

Can't wait to go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Best staff I've encountered in Cuba. Good food and incredibly talented young musicians.
The weak points
Wifi in lobby is poor and pool needs some extensive renovations.

Très décevant

, Saint-Constant, QC
2018-02-01
Premier voyage Avec notre 18 mois. Nous recherchons donc un Hotel plus familiale. Les reviews avait l'air bon pour un 4* mais nous avons été extrêmement déçu. Nous avions fait une demande pour avoir un parc : rien reçu. J'ai fait plusieurs demande aux femmes de chambre pour avoir une serviette d'extra pour notre enfant et elle ne voulais pas. Ne fournisse pas de débarbouillette non plus. Nous avons eu 1 bouteille d'eau à notre arrivée (rien d'autre dans le frigo: pas de Biere ou de jus) et personne n'a voulu nous en donner d'autre malgré nos demande à plusieurs personne du personnel. Il faut payer l'eau. Lorsqu'il pleut tout le plancher est innonder. Moisissure au mur, plafond et rideau. La nourriture au buffet est médiocre. Une chance que nos parent séjournais au Brisas Santa Lucia. C'est à 10min de marche et nous avons séjourner la toute la semaine. Nous revenions juste dormir à notre chambre. Si vous hésiter sur l'hôtel à choisir prenez le Brisas!!! Le buffet est 100 fois mieu: crêpe/pain dorée, omelette, œuf, pizza, pâtes et beaucoup de choix de salades... il y a aussi beaucoup plus d'animation à cet Hotel. Très très venteux, presque jamais personne à la plage car il vente trop, il y a un kiosque de location de kite surf donc il doit toujours venter à santa lucia !! La plage est affreuse, il y a des montagne d'algue, et à cause du vent beaucoup de vague et l'eau est brouillé.. bref on y retournera jamais. Pour 750$ à cuba j'en aurais eu plus à cayo santa maria !! Personnel réception parle - anglais et français, t'es dur de se comprendre. Rien à visiter dans les alentours. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Belle végétation
The weak points
La plage. Buffet. Courtoisie du personnel. Mal entretenu. Pas adapté au enfant

Nice renovation

, Windsor, QC
2016-05-30
Congratulation to the renovation. The rooms are very niche, the bathrooms are fantastic. Also the buffet restaurant got are needed facelift and looks very nice. The food improoved a little, but the choices of items seems to be less. Now the beach is very clean. unfortunately the Italian visitors are staying under themself and are not opening to other guests or to the personal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
rooms
The weak points
italian visitors stay under themself,

Classic Bait and Switch, Avoid booking

, Toronto, ON
2016-02-21
Booked Caracol for the fourth time on December 26. Three days before departure get a phone call stating bumped to Brisas as Caracol did not honor Canadian reservations. Talked to Caracol staff/friends in Cuba advised Caracol is strictly for Italians; although, they take Canadian reservations. Ended up in room at Brisas with no hot water, no control over AC and furthest room from ocean. Brisas is OK but they were full.
All Canadians who booked Caracol were bumped to other resorts at the last minute. Some not advised until arriving at Camaguey airport. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Caracol is being renovated and the fresh paint and finishes look wonderful. The beach is now exceptionally clean. Each unit is a junior suite; the best rooms of all the local resorts.
The weak points
Not honoring Canadian reservations in lieu of accepting only Italians is unethical, unacceptable and should be terminated immediately.
Certified

Club Amigo Caracol

, Toronto, ON
2015-02-11
Generally pleasant and relaxing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice layout of the resort.
The weak points
Always stopped putting food out way before end of meal, thus if you did not arrive early, hardly anything to choose from. Show stage very much in need of repair.
Certified

Great, quiet place

, Burlington, ON
2014-12-21
Great hotel. It is quiet, not many people. Food is Ok. Nothing fancy, not much variety but nice and tasty. Beach is good. White sand, loots of shallow water. There is reef at 2 kilometers away from the shore with good snorkeling spots. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice unexpencive place.
The weak points
water is a bit crowded with weeds.
Certified

Caracol

, Surrey, BC
2014-12-09
The hotel needs to be modernized and needs better(outside) management to run things more efficiently. Rooms are a tad small; not enough room to store clothes and things. The suite is a waste of space. The variety and quality of food at lunch and supper is abysmal. Thankfully the snack bar had excellent fish and chips and burgers, so I was able to avoid the buffet restaurant. Rooms were fairly clean though roaches made it to my room and sand which got into my shoes was not cleaned. All the guests complained about the sea grass or weeds on the beach which made a bad impression. It was being cleaned with rakes by 4-6 workers. Beverages were excellent except for the juice at breakfast which was not juice but some flavoured Tang.
The staff was generally nice though a few entertainers and room maids made you feel a bit awkward as the asked for tips. Mosquito control was perfect and got no bites. Music and shows were very repetitive; playing the same songs day after day.
The free tour to King Ranch was interesting but walking through the local village to a local farm to try the local produce felt like a gauntlet where tourists all had to walk by Cubans waiting for hand outs. I know that this is Cuba and that the price paid is low but some work should be done to improve things. I have come to Santa Lucia over 12 times and things have worsened with time. Too few staff to have decent beach and daily activities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, friendliness, snack bar food and service, variety of drinks at bar including coffee. Mosquito control. Amount of beach chairs.
The weak points
Variety and quality of food. Grass on the beach. Quality of entertainment. Too few staff for daily activities
Certified

In one word it was magical

, London, ON
2014-10-20
We were at the Breezas next door in 2005 and did a walk around at the Grand but really liked Caracol the best,staff was great management left a bottle of champagne in out room for our anniversary. Rooms could use some attention but very clean and could use a better variety of cocktails,but over all had a wonderful vacation and would definitely return. Thanks to all the wonderful people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful staff,clean lots to do and entertainment was well planned.
The weak points
Needs better cocktail variety and more food selection,especially in the snack bar. Rooms need some maintenance.
Certified

October 2014. Not really great but nice weather

, Richmond Hill, ON
2014-10-12
Just back from Santa Lucia. We booked at Club amigo Mayanabo but were given an option of our money back or staying at Caracol. We stayed at Caracol. I can tell you: this was the first and last time. Food so so. Long distance walking. The staff is very unfriendly to the point of one bartender asking my wife what she brought for him (we never met him before) and when did he get it. They have coffee in de diningroom. Just one problem: They do not put the coffee cups out. They serve soup every day: one problem: they do not put the soup cups out.
Entertainment staff. public relations lady and the towel lady are the only positive part of this resort.
We had booked in our favourite hotel, Club Amigo Mayanabo. However the day after booking we got an e-mail that Mayanabo was closed due to renovations. We had 2 options: money back or go to Caracol. We really needed a vacation sow e took the last option
We will for sure not take this option again. Will be happy to be back in Mayanabo in January. they are working hard to make this resort nicer and better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
some of the staff but you can count these some on one hand
The weak points
overall experience. Rude staff. No smile. Serving staff/front desk not speaking any other language than spanish

GOOD TIME

, Mississauga, ON
2014-10-05
This is a clean and cozy hotel. The people are great. The only setback is that the food items are limited but that is because you're in Cuba, and we all know that you don't go to Cuba for the food but for the beaches and the people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, and friendly staff.
The weak points
Not the best beach in Cuba. Selection of food items was limited but acceptable.
Certified

It is a 3 star

, Hamilton, ON
2014-08-10
It is a 3 star but for the price we paid you really couldn't complain. The hotel was ok nothing special but you had everything you needed. AC in the room, food, drinks, and a beach. The staff were amazing. Go see George on the beach he will get you what you need for your vacation lobster dinner, horse back riding. He is really a great guy. Eldis at the lobby bar is great. He has been there for 23 years. My boyfriend and I showed up one night after dinner and as we were walking up he puts our drinks in front of us without us even ordering. He is that good. We brought tools and gifts for many of the staff. They are very appreciative. There are only 4 hotels on this island so the people on the beach are a little more pushier. However they are willing to trade you clothes for their items they are selling. I did not like walking to where the public beach was. Too many disrespectful Cubans. There was broken glass from beer bottles and garbage everywhere from them. Keep in mind that it is Cuba there food tastes different but it's one week and it's an experience. This place was great for the price we paid 500$pp. If I had to pay more I probably would have been up set. but just to get away and do nothing it's great. I don't recommend the pool. it smells of CL2 all the time because they are not adding enough for the amount of pp and the amount of sun they have their. I came out and my feet were slimy. There was a lot of working girls but they are mostly on the public beach and at the mini shopping center. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff, drinks,
The weak points
food selection, beach great for snorkeling but not swimming too much seed weed, too many Cubans at the hotel and they eat anything and everything so you need to go when it opens other wise you will be missing out on the good stuff.
Certified

You get what you paid for!!!!!

, Brampton, ON
2014-03-30
Complained 4 times about problems in the room such as patio sliding door can't be lock, safe , TV & phone not in working conditions, but nothing was done about all of these problems. We made a mistake in leaving our wallets in the room and both me and my wife lost a total of 60 pesos although they left the U.S. & CDN $ untouched. I have been in Cuba 8 times and this is the only first time I have encountered this problem. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
Beach has limited areas for swimming.
Certified

Don't let the rating fool you!

, Oxford Mills, ON
2014-03-09
I travelled with my mother, and we had a wonderful time. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The rooms all have a sitting room, patio, and bedroom which are very clean and well maintained. The resort is compact so easy walking to everything. The bar and entertainment staff are all incredibly friendly and take time to get to know you. The buffet staff needs a bit more enthusiasm for their jobs. Buffet food was typical Cuban but the a-la-carte was lovely and the grilled fish at the beach was delicious. I was very pleasantly surprised by this resort. You have a chance to actually meet the Cuban people, and see the reality of their lives. Always felt very safe on and off resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small resort makes for making new friends. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds.
The weak points
The beach is nice but lots of short weeds in the water. Have to walk a long way out to swim. Some guests had stomach upsets while we were there, but may have been off resort meals.
Certified

A great break from winter

, Oakville, ON
2014-02-09
My 3rd trip to the Caracol, I really like this resort. The size makes it easy to get about for me. The staff is great. And David the Massage therapist is excellent. The food is ok, there is not a large variety, but there is always something on the grill that is hot and fresh. The room is clean and the sitting room makes it an added bonus. I was able to open all windows and enjoy the beautiful breezes. The lobby is always busy and the social capital, however, if you have problems with cigerette smoke as I do, you may have a problem. It seemed to me that this year there were more smokers than previous years, and it may be the reason I will not return. Which bothers me as I do love this resort and the entire area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A small clean well run resort. Nice beach, even with the seaweed, as the reef protects from large waves.
The weak points
The lobby could be improved upon, a better layout with new furniture and better ventilation could improve the smoking problems.
Certified

First Time at Caracol

, Huntsville, ON
2014-01-20
I just got back from a week in Santa Lucia - staying at Caracol for the first time, after staying several times at Brisas. I was pleasantly surprised that the food at Caracol seemed to be better than Brisas, I also liked the rooms better. The little sitting room is a great asset.

However, I find the pool and the beach are better at Brisas. I ended up spending half my time at Brisas and the evenings/nights at Caracol.

Overall a good experience though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The variety of food.
The weak points
Small Pool
Certified

Carla Bernice and Oliver - Dec. 26 - Jan. 3

, Saint Catherines, ON
2014-01-04
Loved the hotel and the staff. The rooms were in very poor condition and need updating, but they were clean. Food was wonderful, beach was great, it was a nice small resort and you did not have to go far for anything. The PROSTITUTION was horrific, there were too many of them and it does ruin the rest of your experience. Hopefully something can be done about this especially since everything else was wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, small resort,friendly staff, beach, cleanliness,activities.
The weak points
Rooms need updating, Prostitution.
Certified

Great Value for Price

, Oakville, ON
2013-12-14
We stayed week of Dec 5. Weather great, but a bit windy. This hotel is very clean, well kept grounds, fresh paint everywhere.
Staff very friendly and food was quite tasty for Cuba - Bonus - had roast pig on a spit one night.
It was quite windy the first few days, so a lot of sea grass on beach, but clean for lounging & walking. The bottom is grassy and a bit rocky, so recommend water shoes.
Recommend going to Playa Cocoa (Beach) for an outing. Had a memorable lobster lunch at a local casa there.
Could easily be 4* if the place was in a bit better repair here & there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall well kept grounds, freshly painted, very clean. Great staff, above average food for Cuba. Better than some "4*" resorts I've stayed at.
The weak points
Beach, it was windy and a lot of sea grass on beach. Not a sandy bottom so recommend water shoes. Entertainment a bit repetitious. Minor problems with room - broken closet door and drawers, but maintenance staff were quick to fix.
Certified

Only for the un-deaf

, Toronto, ON
2013-11-23
Very loud music until the middle of the night from this and nearby hotels otherwise not too bad. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach pretty good
The weak points
Very loud music until the middle of the night from this and nearby hotels
Certified

Great Week

, Hamilton, ON
2013-08-19
I have been to the Santa Lucia area 4 times and would say that Caracol has the nicest layout and location. The food however was not as good as Gran Club or Brisas. The activities and activity people did a great job and would recomend this resort to people with children. If you would like a lobster dinner, see Magel who drives a horse and buggy and for $15 each he will take you to Coco Beach and back and provide a great meal in his home. Thanks to my new Canadian friends and fellow travellers for a great week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The gardens and layout.
The weak points
The food.
Certified

AWESOME TRIP AS USUAL

, Thornhill, ON
2013-08-13
If you want to come and relax for a good price - this place is for you. I have been travelling to this Hotel since 2009 and do not have plans to change it. August this year was a little bit different from other months because Hotel was mostly occupied by Cubanos. You hear more Spanish than English which is not bad for me. I am back and dreaming about travelling again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Location, Price
The weak points
Safety - I fell in the Beach Snack Bar at night duu to no guard rails installed. I reported it to the hotel manager but no action was taken during my stay.
Certified

Club amigo Caracol XXX and halve

, Laval, QC
2013-07-31
First time at this hotel, I liked it is very nice and clean, food and the service at the buffet is good, but the variety of food could be better, The beach I was disappointed at first , but at the end I started to accept it (the seed weed). The thing is that to get there from the airport is very long and exhausted, specially if you have to take an early flight from Montreal, we arrived there very tired and also we have to Waite for a Cuban lady that have problem with emigration(we lost an hour)I like that it was remote ( not too many people)the only thing is that there was a lot of soliciting be sexual or business like to buy or to take You to places or for things like clothing. I found that, annoying, the rest was fine. The activities are very good, but the entertainment could be improved. Overall I have a good vacation. I definitely will come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice, nice settings, pedicure gardens, beautiful!! the buffet is very good and the service in there the best.
The weak points
The beach should be clean everyday, specially the seed weeds, because when we walk is hard to stamp on them is hard on the feet. in the water. Also the restaurant choice , only two, and only two days to choose, if You miss that day , there is no more.
Certified

Humble but Friendly & Intimate

, Scarborough, ON
2013-05-03
This hotel is older and modest but it's smaller, intimate, and staff greet you with smiles and hearts to serve.

Facilities: The pool is small and not edgeless; there is no mini bar service in the rooms; 24 hr internet salon (6 CUC for 1 hr); lots of hot water in the showers :); tiny ants here and there in the rooms but they don't bite; when I booked for myself and my 2 adult kids, we were told that we would get 1 room with 2 twin beds and a cot. When we arrived, they gave us a family suite with 2 bedrooms (king bed in one and 2 doubles in the other) and 2 full bathrooms.

Restaurants: 1 a la carte with 2 different menus; buffet meals are served at limited times (breakfast 7:30 - 9:30, lunch 12 - 2:30, dinner 6:00 - 9:30), beach snack bar 10am - 5pm. But the lobby bar is 24 hrs (and you can get sandwiches there from 9:30 pm - 7:30 am).

With only 150 rooms, it's intimate and vacationers are friendly and laid back. More a relaxing crowd rather than party atmosphere. Lots of "regulars". Lots of Cubans visiting for the weekends.

The food is typical. Stick to what they do best: papaya, fish, omelette station, chicken, pork. The beach snack bar has fabulous (fresh) fish & chips.

The beach has a lot of seaweed (like shredded coconut -- not the slimy stuff) and because of the proximity of the coral reef, bits of coral and shells in the sand which can hurt. The beachfront at the Brizas is nicer (combed?) so it's nice to set up there and you can use their beach bar, but it's more crowded there.

Snorkeling is great because of the coral reef. Lobster dinner is worth it, whether you do the dinner excursion (35 CUC) or at a local's home (10 - 12 CUC) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and entertainers are friendly and greet you with smiles and eager to serve. Intimate, relaxed atmosphere (not a party resort)
The weak points
Buffet restaurant service only at fixed times. Breakfast service ends at 9:30 am (who eats before 9:30 am on vacation??!). Food selection is limited and repetitive. Lots of seaweed in the water discouraged us from going in.
Certified

We hated it.

, Dundas, ON
2013-04-28
Couldn't wait to leave. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The facility was a good size and easy to navigate. Some of the staff were very nice. The weather was great.
The weak points
The entertainment was horrible.... All of it, but especially the evening shows. We were given a terrible room beside the speaker, and they couldn't move us to another one for several days after we asked to switch. We found a cockroach in our new room.
Certified

So much fun

, Bowmanville, ON
2013-04-08
Great little resort. Would go back, as many guests we met have up to 80 times.
First time in this area of Cuba, Felt very welcome and met some wonderful people, guests and staff.Have never laughed so much.
Yes the massage by David was heavenly.
A very relaxing and enjoyable holiday. The beach was great as it is protected by a huge reef. Took ride out to reef for snorkeling,great experience.
We are a senior couple and this resort is an intimate destination where it is easy to make friends.
Food was tasty but not a huge selection. Always something available to suit our needs.
A shout out to the excellent entertainers for a great show every nite. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
small compact resort with well laid out rooms. Clean,Friendly,Great beach bar and grill.
The weak points
grass in ocean swimming area, take water shoes
Certified

Good value

, Orono, ON
2013-03-31
Good value for the money, food was OK at buffet, bars not stocked with the common liquors all the time, need shoes for the water, overall a good 3 star for Cuba [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A good 3 star for Cuba
The weak points
Too much grass in water along beach front
Certified

Winter Break 2013

, Barry S Bay, ON
2013-03-19
It is like coming home to people you know. Food is food, always something to eat even for the picky eaters. The restaurant was closed one lunch and the beach grill had an amazing spread done. This should become a weekly thing. As always staff is very friendly. Hotel was not full which is surprising as it is a great value. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff will make your holiday. Every year there has been some improvements made with the resort. The new lobby bar is very good. The plants and flowers are starting to fill in nicely.
The weak points
One computer in the internet cafe. A few more would be nice.
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Santa Lucia (Camaguey)'s best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Couples Seniors Families Singles

Are you a hotel owner?