Gran Club Santa Lucia

3.453.453.453.453.45
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#2 of 5 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Santa Lucia (Camaguey)
3.45 based on 499 reviews
Traveller pictures (146)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345678

Another Grreat Vacation at Gran Club Santa Lucia

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-02
As usual great experience at a great place to stay with a quiet vacation to relax. If you want to do more there are lots of excurssions to take also or just take in the super nice sun on the beach. Lots of chairs to relax. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We stayed in the front bungalows as usual thanks to Yvonne Just love this quiet Club with good food very clean Resort and Great staff
The weak points
The grounds this year were not like usual no grass has been cut at all during our stay where usually grounds are great. It was hard to find pop in cans this year and french fries all because of Trump again.
Certified

Gran Club Santa Lucia - Great as Usual

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-26
Third time back to Gran Club and expect many more visits.

The reasons we come back every year:

the Junior Suites have a half-wall that separates the beds from the sitting area (sitting area has a pull out sofa beneath the couch). This alone makes the trip because it lets me escape to another area for those nights when I snore heavily - and prevents my wife from holding a pillow over my face.

The rooms are large, clean and housekeeping staff is meticulous - especially on this last trip - we stayed in building 33- the two ladies who looked after us were amazing. Wish I had asked their names so I could have requested to stay in their building next time.

We know that if any detail concerning our room, the bars, the buffet, etc., is missing or needed, we can get it from Ronoldo (the Customer Service Manager at the hotel). Every hotel needs someone as competent, professional and helpful as Ronaldo. Actually I'd like to see every restaurant and retail store in Toronto have someone like him. Thanks Ronoldo - for making our last trip so enjoyable.

All of the activities staff - especially Tiko, Pluto, Jose and Betty - are fantastic. Great for getting people involved and equally great at not being pushy when you're not into leaving your lounge chair.

The dancers put on a great show and work hard every day putting the shows together and practicing new dance routines. The shows here are by far superior to those we've seen elsewhere, where the entertainment can be a bit chaotic and maybe aimed at a much younger audience....the professional dancers here make every show super-enjoyable.

The buffet selection and quality is better than most places we've seen previously in Cuba, including 5 stars...it's still Cuba, so don't expect The Keg quality here, but I never have a problem finding something I want to eat. The staff in the restaurant range from terrific (especially Maydel and a couple of others whose names I unfortunately do not know) and others who could be better trained to look after customers who have been sitting for a while without cutlery, napkins, etc..

The beach is beautiful - some areas have seaweed near the shore but the hotel is good about having it cleaned each morning. Anyway, it's the ocean so the hotel doesn't exactly have a lot of control over what happens there.

Overall - this trip was as great as we expected and we are already looking forward to trip #4 in the near future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Junior Suites have a wall separating bedroom and sitting area -Customer Service (Ronoldo) -Food at the buffet is good -Lots of huts on beach and shade at the pool -Activities staff are awesome -Housekeeping is amazing
The weak points
-Table service in buffet restaurant is hit and miss -Beach bar needs larger food selection
Certified

Great Holiday at Excellent ,quiet resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-08
Very quiet resort very friendly people been here before and will be back again soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Very scary experience

, York, ON
2018-09-15
Family and I booked a 1 week vacation trip to santa lucia roc hotels cuba. The suites, and landscape around the hotels were alright but when it matters the most they failed to compensate or act accordingly. We were having breakfast on the second last day of our trip and our stay wouldve been alright until my 5 year old DAUGHTER found a bunch of BROKEN and SHARP shattered pieces of GLASS in her yogurt drink. Now the way it works is theres a pitcher of yogurt on the buffet table you get your cup and pour it on to your glass, so my wife poured that yogurt drink in her cup, the thing is the yogurt is thick and creamy that you cant see if theres any debris at the bottom of my childs glass. So then I was so terrified out of my mind when my daughter asked me “dad? Whats this?” Then i took the piece of glass from
Her hand and examine it, and I just couldnt believe what I saw, it was an actual piece of glass, then I checked her cup which she finished right to the bottom, there were shards/ crystalized pieces of glass in her cup. I quickly told all about this to the kitchen manager, which he then ignored me and he purposely drop the piece of glass that my daughter found on the floor, and it broke into pieces. Then after half an hour, we decided to go back to our suite because nothing seems to be happening,
Then after checkin up on my daughter to check if theres pieces of glass left inside her mouth, and thank God she seemed ok, but I was still concerned if she intake any of the shards in her body system. We then went to the lobby where the front office is located, the hotel manager saw us and spoke to us (I swear if we hadnt gone there, they would never have spoken with us about the incident) then we were led to the nurse in their medical room, asked the same questions and the nurse proceed to examine my daughter and then that was it. I guess they didnt see any symptoms that my daughter was in agony or anything so they decided that, that was it. The next day they told us that theyre going to bake my daughter a birthday cake because its my daughter birthday on that actual day, and to compensate us to what happened to my daughter we get to check out late on our day of departure. Thats it, they said that it wasnt their fault, they are blaming the company that was the provider of their yogurt. So they said that they are going to sue that company and we have nothing to worry about. So theyre basically going to make money off my daughter's incident. They even said that theyre going to keep in touch with us to update us about
the investigation. It is now september, and we havent heard a single word or even a “hi” from them, and if we ever going to book another vacation trip with them, theyre going to make sure that we get the best vip suites in their hotels. Well I just thank God that my daughter is still fine today and nothing major happened to her, and I will never going to spend my hard earned cash with santa lucia roc hotels to book my vacations. And I highly recommend that you stay the away from this hotel in cuba because, if anything health wise or emergency happen, I can assure you that the most you will get is a late checkout on your last day trip from them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
DO NOT JEOPARDIZE YOUR TRIP WITH THESE GUYS!
The weak points
They have no business with what happens to my daughte

Beware of breaking and entry

, Calgary, AB
2017-08-26
The experience of this hotel was good, staff and personnel were kind and very helpful, the amenities are improving step by step.
One thing I would like to tell is to be aware of breaking and entry. It happened to two rooms in one night while the occupants were at the night show at the hotel. The event happened where the single rooms are, across the street from reception and the far side with windows facing the fence where lighting is poor and security not present to make rounds. Rooms were at the lower level and windows were forced from outside. One room had canadian guests and one room cuban guests, so I believe it was random. The windows didn't have an extra piece of wood along the sliding side of the window to block the window to slide.
Recommendations: ask for a second floor and make sure you have extra security element inside for blocking the window.
For the hotel they need to ask security to make patroles on the side of the fence and everywhere (hire extra staff if necessary) to provide security to the guests inside especially during the night. Thieves can stay in the hotel, not necessary come from outside. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and personnel very helpful
The weak points
Lack of ice for cooling the wine on the beach bar, limited quantities of wine at the pool bar,
Certified

GREAT VAC

, St Catharines, ON
2017-06-15
GREAT TIME BUT THEY HAVE TO EN [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
BETTY IS THE BEST VERY GOOD RESORT FOR A VAC
The weak points
NO WATER IN ROOM HAD TO BUY EVERY DAY. NO FREE SAFE ANY MORE
Certified

Next time we'll find a gem to visit

, Saint Catharines, ON
2016-05-06
I have stayed in Camaguey many times and we have frequently visited this resort. In fact our friends and ourselves have been there 3 times in the last six months. Usually in Cuba you are greeted and welcomed as a return visitor. This time however, we were not treated well at all and were put into rooms that smelled terribly of cigarettes, sewer smells, and had no windows that would open to allow an air exchange. These rooms I have seen used by elderly men in the past when they have invited prostitutes, so called in Spanish as, jineteras, to spend a week with them at the hotel. You can just imagine what my thoughts were with living in this space for a week.
We were located between the circular driveway that unloaded the buses at the front lobby, and the main street of Camaguey. It was noisy, filled with car and bus fumes. There was absolutely nothing to look at out of the small locked windows. We were two couples travelling here. The ladies had to get back home to work and our spouses stayed the second week. After complaining our first day, the men were moved to far more appealing rooms the second week. My friend and I had one week only and spent it in prostitute style rooms!
From this location, we were a very long long walk from our rooms to the front of the hotel, then walk through the lobby, along a sidewalk that leads to the pool area, across the pool area down some steps to the entertainment area, then we start to reach the area where our rooms have always been. There are three rows of multiples of acceptable rooms and we passed this area that with multiple rows of the better rooms, and then eventually additional paths led to the ocean! Our hubbys each have back problems and we ladies have Rheumatoid arthritis. I only go to these resorts for the wonderful opportunity of enjoying the ocean, and swimming for hours with my snorkel and mask. The walk just killed the holiday. You get the picture.
I told the Customer Relations Lady that I was really insulted to be put into these rooms.
I expected that the Hotel Manager would speak to us. There was no effort to do so.
In the past we have been invited to a special dinner as a repeat client at other hotels we have gone to over and over again as we have here. We have had fruit trays and wine or Rum left in our rooms to welcome us.
The customer relations lady told us we had not paid enough for one of the better rooms. We paid exactly as much as we usually do when we go to hotels in this area. In fact the neighboring hotel is about the same price and has entirely renovated rooms with modern showers, new beds, beautiful windows with ocean views etc. It would definitely have been more appealing, however the pool there is a disappointment.
The Hotel employees are wasting a lot of time on their cell phones now that there is WIFI available at this resort. They are definitely connected to the world now and disconnected from service. In fact, 1 Cuban will buy a card and you`ll have several (6 at least) using the same card for an hour. The more people who are on the WIFI, the slower the capabilities are for the guests.
We believe in tipping generously when we travel because we know that this is an important part of their income. Many Cubans are starting to complain that Canadians no longer tip as much, but honestly they are not providing any service at all anymore. A Canadian who tips will wait for bar service while non tipping Cubans in line behind the Canadians get served massive drink orders out of turn while we wait and wait. It makes a person reluctant to tip at all and many people do not tip now. What a shame!
Well after over 30 trips to Cuba, I will not return to Camaguey.
Viva Cuba. They`re hanging themselves. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The ping pong tournaments, child care, massage was great value, very safe with security always watching, languages spoken are excellent for travellors, violin player during dinner, entertainment band, evening show with dancers, and clean pool towels.
The weak points
Employees monopolize WIFI with 6 or more using one access card, slow service at bars for non Cubans, unsatisfactory resolution to our serious booking problem with broken smelly rooms that affected our breathing, sleeping from bus fumes and shaking floors.

Fantastic hotel

, Hamilton, ON
2016-05-06
The moment we got there they welcomed us with a drink and a quick check in. Our room 230 was fantastic and very big for a family of 4, close to everything and very quiet as show ends at 11. Air conditioner leaked water but they fixed it quickly.
Food was beyond our expectations. Each night they had a few meats on the grill to choose from like pork, honey ham,lamb, beef, fish, chicken breast or legs. My son is picky and so am I but the grill meat was fabulous. The pasta/pizza chef took the time to talk to my son as he's interested in cooking and let him cook the pasta each night, my son was thrilled.
The landscaping was excellent and well maintained. The beach was clean and not busy. We brought our own snorkelling equipment but we didn't have much luck as the reef is too far away but we did see crabs in beautiful shells, starfish, 2 eels, stingray, anenome(stung our feet) and a few fish. The snorkelling trip takes you to the reef for an hour by boat. Beach grill had burgers, hot dogs, fries and grilled cheese with ham sandwich.
Sunwing rep Mirtha was very helpful and trips were booked easily. We did the fishing trip ($65 each), caught 2 barracuda, snorkelling trip ($25)and went on horseback($10 each) on the beach and through town on very gentle small horses as we were all first timers. All were well worth the time and money.
Entertaining staff were great. They had a variety of activities for everyone.
Overall we loved this hotel. My 2 teenage boys can't wait to go back. We felt pampered and relaxed as the hotel made everything very easy (the arrival informationn meeting was great). The front desk even called at 6 on departure morning to tell us that they were opening the buffet early for us so we could have breakfast before the bus ride to airport. There was also a porter waiting in the courtyard to carry bags for us. It was details like this that make this hotel fantastic. Can't wait to come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel very organized,clean,food very good,entertainment and staff great.
The weak points
The only problem we had was everything closed so early there was nothing to do at night but the show. Pool closed at 6 and there were still lots of people in it, ping pong and pool tables closed around and the beach bar closed.we were bored in the evening
Certified

Good value for money

, Port Dover, ON
2016-02-26
Excellent rooms, excellent pool, amazing beach. Great variety of food but they cook it bland bland to accommodate as many as possible and end up pleasing few. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool, bars
The weak points
Food
Certified

Relaxing Holiday

, Kitchener, ON
2016-02-21
The check in was pretty good and you could get more than one door key and also a key for the safe. We did not have to pay for the safe. We were in Junior Suite 354 which was the last building and on the second floor. It had a living room and a separate bedroom. The bathroom had a shower and no tub. There was a sliding door from both rooms. The house keeper was very friendly and kept the room clean. The food was tasty and had some flavoring which was very nice. They had fresh pizzas at lunch and dinner that were being made while the buffet was open. They had a great variety of food and different desserts and most nights they had two or three flavors of ice cream. Very good. The animation team were very friendly and had things to do every day at the beach and pool. The shows at night were interesting and different most nights. They had a house band and singer that played every evening and also entertained you at the buffet. The resort was kept very clean by the groundskeepers. They were always seen doing the lawns or pruning the trees and just keeping it very clean and neat. It was a very nice beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The animation team were always keeping you busy. Close to shopping area and bank. Rooms very clean and spacious.
The weak points
Not enough lighting on the pathways at night.

Gran Club Santa Lucia

, Deseronto, ON
2015-10-01
Only problem was the very large amount of mosquitos, which was not the problem of the hotel. Staff all excellent, rooms very clean, meals typical of Cuba. This was my 3rd visit to this hotel, and it will certainly not be the last. Loved it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff all around
The weak points
Lots of mosquitos looking for meal
Certified

Going back as soon as I can

, Pickering, ON
2015-04-24
My daughter and I stayed at this resort for 7 nights starting April 15th and are planning to return again. No complaints with the room, the food, the service and entertainment. Half of the people we met while there were repeat customers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room, food, staff and entertainment. Very clean, maid cleaned every day.
The weak points
The shower curtain should be longer so the floor does not get soaked. Toilet seats appear optional outside of the rooms.
Certified

Gran club

, Bailieboro, ON
2015-02-17
with a few small improvements this could easily be a very nice resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff bar service great resort clean room always cleaned
The weak points
more food selection is needed more tables and chairs around pool bar pizza snack bar needs to be open long way to beach bar entertainment has excellent dancers but need a lot better program disco next door noisy well into the nite
Certified

Great Vacation

, Glencoe, ON
2015-02-13
I have been to this hotel 6 times. I keep coming back due to the staff. They make the vacation fun for all members of our family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fun, sun, safe
The weak points
Patience required at check in.
Certified

Gran Club Santa Lucia, Cuba

, Cornwall, ON
2015-01-31
Had a wonderful time and would definitely return to this hotel. It is not fancy, probably rate it three star but very clean and the people at the resort make your vacation a time to remember. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People,cleanliness and grounds
The weak points
Food
Certified

First time in Cuba

, Aurora, ON
2014-12-19
Not bad at all! Of course is more to improve,but for this what they need is to work a little bit more for attitude! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is ok, swimming pool is great,beach is good,entertainment awesome! Overall, good experience for the price!
The weak points
Front desk staff playing dead when you asked for something! I report that the hair dryer is broken but they did absolute nothing!They have to work very hard for a good atitude!
Certified

Great place

, Toronto, ON
2014-11-28
Hotel was good, but we stayed most of the time on the beach. There is lots of seaweed in November, but it did not bother us, we still swam and played in the ocean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people are great! The weather was awesome!
The weak points
The food was not too great, but we did not go for the food.
Certified

What can you expect for under $500????

, Coldwater, ON
2014-10-16
Inexpensive, quick jaunt south for warm temps and beachfront resort. Can't ask for much more ... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff
The weak points
The bland food and powered drink mixes
Certified

Gran Club ... Home Away From Home

, Victoria Harbour, ON
2014-08-07
Although Santa Lucia is not the top travel destination in Cuba it ought to be, and Gran Club Santa Lucia helps make it that way. From the tie you check in until the time you leave Fidel and his staff go above and beyond to make sure that everything they can offer is yours for the asking. The most impressive thing about this hotel is that when they say "all inclusive" it means that the smiles are genuine and free too!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Marisella, Jose, Armando, Miguel, Beatrice, Heidi,Fidel ... get the point? The a la cartes a worth booking, bring your favorite drink recipe and they will make it, just ask and your housekeeping needs are seen to. The smiles, the beach ...
The weak points
Cuban cooking is bland and the buffet food is no different, but conditions are sanitary and the food is quite satisfactory. As anywhere in the islands, second floor rooms are better because of the ants that are usually found on the first floors.
Certified

Gran Club Santa Lucia

, Gravenhurst, ON
2014-04-07
This hotel exceeded our expectations. Friendly staff, great service, no line ups, cleanliness of accommodations, good variety of food at both the buffet and a la carte restaurants, fabulous nightly entertainment, daily activities, lots of excursions to choose from; great for either family or couples; lovely beach, everything within reasonable walking distance. Would recommend this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Value for price; Friendly entertainment staff; cleanliness;
The weak points
Front desk staff not as friendly as other staff
Certified

March 2014

, Notl, ON
2014-03-21
Location was great, white beach. Hotel was clean. Had to change rooms three times d/t room issues. Serving staff where not attentive. They would talk and give drinks/food to their co workers and there families while making you wait. One meal my kids and myself could not even get water. We had to stay at the hotel next door d/t plane issues and found the staff great and attentive. The sunwing reps where not helpful either. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The physical location and resort was nice for the price. Activities personal where good.
The weak points
The staff at the bar and buffett served their co workers families and selves first and made visitors wait, sometimes 30 minutes. At diner my children and I where not able to get anything to drink. Server staff made you feel like you where a bother.
Certified

Santa Lucia

, Barrie, ON
2014-03-14
Overall, went for cheap and cheerful, and that is what I got. Food adequate, nothing spectacular. Disappearing towels became a concern. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds clean.
The weak points
few days of little water pressure for showers/washroom use. 3-4 times with no water, however if patient, water came on within the hour. Public toilets often didn't work/flush. Many of the ground water features not working, disappointing.
Certified

First time to Cuba

, St Catharines, ON
2014-03-08
Having read many reviews and talked to lots of people, we went to Cuba with eyes wide open and low expectations. Knowing that Gran Club was not high on the "star" list, all we hoped for was a clean place to sleep and the rest and relaxation we so badly needed. We were NOT disappointed!!

The biggest complaint I had heard about Cuba in general was about the food. "You don't go to Cuba for the food." No….I don't really go on vacation anywhere for the food. I go to de-stress and relax. If the food is edible and I don't get sick from it then I am happy. That said, I was more than happy with the food offered at Gran Club. I brought condiments with me that I did not use once. The food was flavourful and seasoned perfectly. The variety was more than adequate with choices of fresh grilled fish, carved pork, turkey or ham, pasta, rice or potatoes and always fresh and cooked vegetables available. I was surprised to even see brussel sprouts on the buffet. While it may have appeared to some that the same things were appearing on the buffet day after day, I can assure you that the flavour of each dish was different from the next. We very much enjoyed every meal whether at the buffet, beach bar or each of the a la carte restaurants. Don't go with expectations of getting the same food you eat at home (which on vacation outside of North America you shouldn't) and you will enjoy every meal - unless you are a heavy smoker or salter and have no taste buds.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. Our room was always clean with fresh linen on the bed and towels in the bathroom and while it certainly was not the Ritz Carlton….we didn't pay for the Ritz either. The AC worked well, the beds were comfortable enough and the room was spacious. We could always find a lounge or chair at the pool or beach. There was never any lack of anything to do if we chose to participate.

In the end it is your frame of mind that will determine whether you have a good time wherever you are and every place you travel to can have its negatives. While not perfect, Gran Club Santa Lucia offered us everything we needed in a vacation and we enjoyed every minute of our stay there. We will definitely be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendly and helpful staff, the food (don't miss the fries and hot dogs at the Beach Bar), the fabulous weather!
The weak points
The lazy tourists who can't throw away their own garbage and leave it wherever they drop it….do you do that at home?! The beach isn't the cleanest and that is one of the reasons why.
Certified

Grand club

, Beeton, ON
2014-02-28
The room left a little to be desired. Not a lot of night time activity but the staff were great and the food was some of the best we have had in Cuba yet [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food and excursions
The weak points
The room was disappointing, musty smelling and no water pressure in the shower
Certified

Traveling with kids? This is the place to go!

, Tobermory, ON
2014-02-24
Lots to do! Excursions are very affordable since they are close to many attractions. Deep Sea fishing was amazing and highly recommend it! Kids Club is very well planned and organized. Kids are kept very busy as are adults with all the games, lessons, etc. Pool was very clean, as were all public washrooms and rooms. Animation staff and bartenders are second to none! Food was well presented, ample, and had a great selection that changed daily, never had the same thing twice all week. Reef is to far from shore to snorkel without a boat. Very clean resort in good repair compared to other places in Cuba we have been. Looking forward to returning! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing place for kids.Staff go our of their way to make this a holiday they will remember. BonBon takes such good care of the kids and has events planned throughout the day to keep them busy. Games, lessons, great shows,pool,staff,resort. will go back!
The weak points
Front desk;unable to get a safe upon arrival,no explanation why. Bracelet they give you breaks easily and they want 5 pecos to replace, rip-off. I found them unfriendly,not eager to help.toilet seat in room didn't fit bowl so felt like you would fall in
Certified

A Jem In January

, Victoria Harbour, ON
2014-02-01
Thanks in no small part to Jose, Edina, Thomas and their fellow employees which are far to many to mention, my January stay at Gran Club was all that I expected. There was a small incident phone being lost somewhere on the resort, most likely taken by another tourist around the pool. The French Canadian woman to whom the phone belonged created a two day long disturbance for both hotel staff and fellow travelers but the manager, Fidel Castillo, handled it with gentlemanly grace and dignity, using every tool at his disposal to rectify the situation.
The front desk reception staff worked tirelessly assisting in the recovery and/or cancellation of her cellular services for her own security.

When needing to get away from all the noise and commotion such as this French Canadian caused, Fernando was quick and efficient at renting us a scooter for a while. Luis and his horse and carriage were always at the ready for a soothing "clip clop" tour around the area, and of course Karell and his beautiful champion quarter horses are a delight to the senses, whether riding or just visiting with bananas from the buffet(their favorite treat!).

As always, the rooms were clean, the grounds immaculate. The food is the best of all the resorts, safe and well handled, although still not prepared and cooked to our standards. On this trip I found the entertainment to be a bit below normal standards, slightly more amateurish then normal, but it could just be "days off" rotation. As always, tips are hugely appreciated, as there isn't a person, from maintenance to bartender to entertainer, who makes more than $30.00/mth. To understand the impact of this low wage one need only go
into the resort store,Centre Commercial, or the gas station and buy a tub of toothpaste or bottle of shampoo to learn that all prices in Cuba are fixed by the government and apply to tourists and Cubans alike, making even the basic necessities out of reach of most Cubans. My belief?? If you could afford to take the cash out of your bank in Canada to bring along on your trip, you can afford to leave it on the resort in the form of peso tips and you will feelgood knowing that tip helps feed and cloth moms and dads, grand parents, school children and babies that you will never meet. Audios mi amigos ... Austa luego! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms are large and comfortable and mattresses and pillows far superior to the typical expectations of Cuba
The weak points
Ponds and fountains not running and takes away from the atmosphere ... not enough variety of both hot and cold foods on the buffet
Certified

Gran Club Santa Lucia

, Keswick, ON
2014-01-31
We actually had a very nice time here. We all agreed that we got value for our money. The staff is very friendly and ready to help out. But if you are expecting great rooms, these are small and kind of neglected. However the beds were clean and we didnt spend much time there. Pool and Beach were good. Although the pool was cold. And if you plan on walking down the beach bring water shoes there are some ruff broken shells along the waterline and some weeds. But the beach itself is great with nice soft sand. Food was plentiful with a little something for everyone.
This hotel is older but had everything we needed, bring napkins, the bars run out of tissue and its not replaced. Also if you go to town non of the toilets have paper.
A nice touch at this hotel is the coffee bar. And the peddle boats were a good way to get out on the water.
All in all we had a very relaxing stay. For the price I would go back to this hotel and we met quite a few who are returning for 2nd or 3rd times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was pleniful. Loved that they have the coffee bar there. Lots of beach chairs, beach was very nice with a bar and hamburger stand also like the Peddle Boats.
The weak points
Rooms didnt look very clean, beds were hard and one very tiny lumpy pillow. Some of the decorative things like ponds etc are not running. Pool was freezing cold. Dont go off the paths near the Beach there are lots of Sand Spurs.
Certified

Glen Warriner

, Niagara Falls, ON
2014-01-24
Stayed for a week and was very impressed because of low price....would return and would recommend....great for families [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful, well kept grounds, pool, staff very friendly
The weak points
Disco next door goes very late and is very loud
Certified

Last Minute ONLY worth if less than $600 all in !!

, Whitby, ON
2014-01-10
below average for Cuba (have been to Cuba several times in different areas of the country ) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
animacion crew, especially kids club and show
The weak points
food, drinks, location, cleanliness
Certified

Best Club on the Strip

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-20
Although one of the smaller resorts this is the place to be. The event staff made the trip fun - but YOU have to participate! The trip to Camaguey was only so-so. Interesting to see the city but it was such a long day-leaving at 8:30 AM and returning at 7 PM, although we were booked to return at 5 PM. Other than that, everything was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
If you are travelling with children you can jump the line at check-in. Good thing. Also, resort is quiet after 10:30 PM. Kids can sleep well. Some other resorts quiet down at 4:30 AM. Party at off site disco.
The weak points
Be patient at the resort check-in. They are not computerized. Slow process. Took an hour.
Certified
pages: 12345678

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Santa Lucia (Camaguey)'s best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Couples Seniors Families Singles

Are you a hotel owner?