Hotel Pelicano

3.783.783.783.783.78
Hotel Pelicano
#1 of 8 hotels in Cayo Largo
3.78 based on 782 reviews
Traveller pictures (371)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Nice title. and appropriate

, Strathroy, ON
2019-03-03
Very accomodating. We changed from a 2nd floor to a 1st floor within 1 day. Had a ride with our bags to our rooms: nice. Because we were with returning guests we were welcomed and felt right at home. The rooms were clean and pretty good sizes. The staff went out of their way to involve you in activities. The hotel grounds were large enough to get exercise but not too large to make it a burden to get around. Food was varied and tasty. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were friendly and willing to help. Spoke enough english to be able to communicate. Beautiful grounds. Fast service in the dining rooms a la cartes and pizza place also the rooms were made up quickly each day.
The weak points
Mosquito bites, those mosquitos loved me. Ran out of french fries and eggs.
Certified

Latest visit

, Fournier, ON
2019-01-16
The Pelicano hotel is once again our favourite resort on Cayo Largo, The personnel are outstanding in looking after us. the resort is going through a major painting program where all the buildings are being painted in vibrant colours . The food is very good. , [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Spent an excellent two weeks at the beach and resort, the beach was fantastic. We were about the only ones with a beach to play on.
Certified

Once again

, Stone Mills, ON
2018-08-06
We had the good fortune to discover the Pelicano in January 2003 we were there for 2 weeks and enjoyed it so much we returned 2 weeks later for an additional 2 weeks .
Since then we have returned every year 1 or 2 times with vacations lasting 2 to 6 weeks
February 2019 we will once again return for 4 weeks to our favorite vacation place
We keep returning here because of the beaches and wonderful people there
There is times they run short of supplies but we have always had enough to drink and eat
The rooms dated but are always clean
We always look forward to our return there [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very frendly staff great beaches Clean rooms
The weak points
Sometimes shortages of supplies.

March

, St Catharines, ON
2018-03-26
Older hotel, value for money, staff very helpful, you will not go hungry. Only negative for me was no tonic or soda water. Lol beach amazing. Guys on the beach try really hard, but if you are late no umbrellas left. That is not hotels fault other travelers that take them then only use them for a short time. Overall a very relaxing week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Our family reunion March 2018

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-11
I would rate this hotel a 3 star at most. The band that played at the hotel lobby and restaurants was awesome. The hotel needs some TLC and repairs ie taps, door handles, paint, guest bathrooms. We had a nice room on the second floor with an ocean view. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The lobby was simple but passable. I would suggest a facelift of the resort. I would also suggest a supply of beer each day in the fridge and a few bar huts on the beach and more Palapas on the beach for shade. It is an island with no connection to mainland other than water or flight, I would recommend a warehouse for supplies in the marina area to be overstocked so they don't run into issues as we experienced. It was not the end of the world but oh boy where there a lot of guests complaining. It was annoying. Remember all it is a poor country. We had an awesome vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff!!!! The beach!!! The weather. We had a wonderful time. The nearness to the airport!!
The weak points
Updates and upkeep of room taps, doors, windows, guest bathrooms on resort. Hot water problems. Lack of stock food and beer and soap for the towels. No disco
Certified

Not as good as it was

, Kapuskasing, ON
2018-02-16
we were there 2 years ago and we had no complaints then. unfortunately everything else being the same the food really went downhill at the buffet. some days no juice for breakfast . they had no vodka , they ran out of beer. it just seems like management is not doing a good job of running the place. we won't be going back unless things change ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach , the people
The weak points
the food , management, the resort needs some TLC !

Good value for our money

, Welland, ON
2017-12-31
We had a good time and met some great people. Beach was nice and lots of beach chairs. The pool was very clean (as was the rest of the resort) but too shallow for adult swimmers (1 meter). Food was plentiful and good but varied little from day to day. Very little evidence of any liquors other than local brands. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Probably the friendliest staff of any place we have ever been to and we have been to many all over the Caribbean. Nice beach.
The weak points
The room was clean but we frequently ran out of hot water. Got locked out because door got stuck, bathroom ceiling fell several inches and had to be held up to prevent door from scraping.
Certified

A little piece of paradise

, Toronto, ON
2017-12-28
This was our first trip to Cayo Largo but 6 trip to Cuba. By far this was the best place we've been so far. As with any hotel there are pros and cons.
Pros- Awesome entertainment staff. Larissa, Fran and a few others were wonderful
Lobby Bar- Anita was the sweetest bartender entertaining my 6 yr olds request for drinks and treating him like an adult.
Food- For Cuba, this was surprisingly great. Keilon at the morning buffet and grill at lunch was awesome, Bianca made the best crepes and the staff at Ranchon were the best. The buffet was the same every morning but dinner had a wonderful selection. The Pizzeria was our fave, serving amazing pizzas.
Beach- Despite the left side of the beach being nude, the ocean and beach were spectacular. The sand was like icing sugar.
Room- We ended up with an ocean view which was gorgeous.Our Housekeeper Lala was so nice writing us notes every day. We had another lady after 3 days who was equally as nice.The room was very clean. We always had hot water.
No Disco- Nice to have peace and quiet after 10 pm especially with 2 small kids. Closest disco was at the marina.
Pools- While it was very shallow it was a great area to lounge. Shunky kept the area spic and span. The kids area was awesome with a water slide/playground combo.
Cons- Charging us 2 CUC daily for use of the room safe.
Lobby was a bit dated but the staff was very helpful and friendly
No ice cream at all (important if you have kids)
Lack of options on breakfast and lunch buffet but as mentioned above overall the food was great.
Nude beach. While I don't mind it, it was a bit uncomfortable for my kids as the nude people tended to walk on the "normal" side of the beach without covering up.
Towels/Bedding- Our towels were changed daily but they always had some sort of stains on them. We also found some of the sheets had stains as well.
Mosquitoes- They were really bad the first 3 days. My husband and son were eaten alive despite wearing pants and bug spray. The fourth day-last day they fumigated nightly by plane which made it much more enjoyable.
No fitness facility- I'm not a huge gym person but a fitness centre would have been nice. I chose to run on the beach and around the resort to get exercise.
Kids Club- There is a mini club but it is unsupervised. It would be nice to have a place to drop the kids off for a while.

Overall we had a nice, relaxing week and we will be returning next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and Pool and decent food
The weak points
Charging for the room safe and mosquitoes
Certified

Beautiful Peace Of Mind Resort

, Toronto, ON
2017-07-19
We liked our stay in July 2017. The resort is nice, clean, well kept. Beach is OK, but the water is deep - you can't get more than 15-20' from the shore. Staff is friendly. Room is nice and clean (ask for the room close to the beach - it's also farther from the loud music at the pool). Pool is too shallow - 3' max depth. Food is so-so - usual Cuban resort food, very few meat and fruits, no ice-cream at all. Except of your room and the restaurant there is no air-conditioning anywhere - tough for the tropical climate. Wi-Fi is in a lobby only, for fee. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach, room, staff.
The weak points
Food, pool, lack of air-conditioned places, loud music.
Certified

Relax in paradise

, Brighton, ON
2017-04-01
Cayo Largo is a place for relaxation. The beaches are stunning . One of our new favourite places to vacation in Cuba. The food is what was expected, not amazing but always something good. We rented a four wheeler and explored the island for a day.... totally worth it. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. Tips were appreciated but not expected at the resort. All and all we would return to Cayo Largo and stay at Hotel Pelicano but would also try another hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Disappearing beaches.

, Deux Montagnes, QC
2017-02-02
Travel agencies, hotels or airlines should issue warnings about beach condition. Air Canada did last year but no one else. Hotels should at least offer free transport to other beaches when theirs is washed out. We chose Cayo Largo because it is quiet and has the most beautiful beaches I have seen. To arrive at a resort with no beach is disappointing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff. Close to airport.
The weak points
No hot water for the whole week. There was no beach the 1st day and only a thin strip the rest of the week. Access to the beach was difficult, the hotel could have at least installed a small temporary staircase while waiting for the whole beach to return.
Certified

Pelicano Hotel

, Ottawa, QC
2017-01-27
All was good at the hotel, with a descent variety of food available. Service at front desk was fine, and the chamber maids excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and beach carry this hotel.
The weak points
Looks a little tired, but should improve with Sol Hotels gone.
Certified

Wonderful week

, Kapuskasing, ON
2016-04-10
this is a three star resort with 4 star service and food.the beach is beautiful,the rooms and resort are a bit plain but clean. the people at the resort and in town were all very nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach,the people
The weak points
bug bites

Relaxing Vacation, Expectations Met

, Hannon, ON
2016-02-27
Fabulous beach with variable wind conditions-sometimes green flagged but not for our holiday. We were yellow and red flagged every day so snorkelling from this beach was not possible. We went to Sirena and Paraiso beaches instead, by taxi, 2 CUC per person each way, much calmer. Our beach was nestled between 2 points, both of them red flagged all the time at those resorts,but we fared better. Rooms were dated but very clean, lots of choice for food, the pizza area beside the lobby bar and the beach snack bar being the best; the buffet was pick and choose carefully what you want but always enough choice to never go hungry. A good place to relax as the island is very small, one road, some small sightseeing, lots of time for the beach and beach walking (can walk for hrs.) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach when it is not red flagged, pizza, fresh fish, staff
The weak points
The buffet flow at the cooking stations very slow and cut people off from some of the food, age of the rooms
Certified

Relaxing Holiday

, Belleville, ON
2016-01-31
The hotel is somewhat tired and needs some cosmetic and structural work.Our room was a good size, on the ground floor and the A/C kept it cool, but everything felt damp all week. Lots of hot water and the housekeeping maid kept everything spotless. We received a bottle of water every day. Towels often seemed to be in short supply and face cloths were non-existent. Our room had two twin beds pushed together, which worked well. The safe did not work on arrival, but the next morning it was found to be lacking batteries. The beach was beautiful and we were always able to get a chair. The a la carte restaurants were a nice change, but the food was no better than the buffet.The buffet ranged from fair to okay. Some days/meals were better than others. We found most meals the hot food was cool to luke warm and this is a safety concern. As many people told us, it is the staff that keep people coming back. Everyone was friendly and would do their very best to get anything you needed. They work hard and there are a number of things that would help with organization and workload. Things as simple as signs for lineups, spoons beside the soup and information in the appropriate language. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Housekeeper, wait staff, beach, beach chair availability.
The weak points
Check in process, internet, safety concerns with railings, uneven walkways etc.
Certified

Another great trip to Cayo Largo

, Fort Erie, ON
2015-12-12
5th trip to the island, first time at Sol Pelicano. Room needed some TLC but clean and adequate. Great staff, food was very good overall. Had some rain but overall there were opportunities to enjoy the fabulous beach! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Room
Certified

Pelicano in April

, Ottawa, QC
2015-04-20
Great trip to the best beach. Staff friendly and very helpful. Food was reasonable considering all is not available in Cuba all the time. We always found something. Some times there are shortages, but this year seemed a little worse. Transportation and supply chain management is probably the problem. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are the glue that holds this hotel together. It is the beach and the people that make return clients.
The weak points
This year there seemed to be shortages of things on different days. There seems to be problems in the supply chain. This could be management , or simply just Cuba.
Certified

Out of bottled water and t-paper?

, Mississauga, ON
2015-03-03
I am an annual traveller to Cuba and Sol/Melia hotels >8 times (and I have realistic expectations, and familiar with the "Cuba-isms")). But I never felt so aggravated with lack of hotel service and supplies.
"Noooooo....sorrrrry..." was a common expression, and I have never been left to forage for bottled water and toilet paper while on vacation. Disorganized, no manager was seen directing the staff. Long lines because of short-staffing levels. The beach was the only saving grace for our vacation. Rooms# 58-- are located next to Stage and Disco, so you wont sleep before midnight each night in this block.
This stay turned me off of the Sol Melia chain, and possibly Cuba as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Front-desk staff unhelpful, room electrical outlets with burn marks, tap water rancid, Animacion staff disorganized, 20min wait for lobby bar drinks (only bar open when the other becomes an ala-carte), ran out of towels, bottled water.
Certified

BEST PLACE EVER!!!

, Cambridge, ON
2015-02-09
Very nice stuff, the beach amazing nice and quiet. Room was normal, bathroom needs renovation. Food choices are less than other Caribbean countries but it was enough for us. Coctails are super! Children programs are very good. Our son had very nice programs in Kids club and evening time in the mini disco. ODALYS is the nicest stuff in the Kids club, my son liked her very much. We had second vacation in Cuba (first was in Varadero). Here much more nicer everything. I hope we can go back someone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, weather amazing. Stuff very friendly and helpful.
The weak points
No internet access, food (fruits)choices are little bit poor.
Certified

A little paradise island

, Saint-Laurent, QC
2015-02-08
OK hotel, clean but not in tip top shape. Nice and helpful personnel. Not too comfortable mattresses. There are a few beaches around that covers almost all tastes, with relative big waves near the resort and calm and almost with no waves a few minutes away(with a taxi) from the resort. Not to many kids, maybe due to the nudist beaches near by but if you are a couple and you seek more intimacy to enjoy the ocean and the sun is a perfect place to go. The food is OK as well but the fruit variety it was very limited and I fount this odd since is a tropical country.
At the end me and my wife, both, enjoyed our vacation and we are sure we will go back as soon as possible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, small and well placed resort, marine life, vegetation and the rum.
The weak points
Hotel renovation, transportation around the resort
Certified

Fantastic as usual

, Fournier, ON
2015-01-12
This is our 5th time at Sol Pelicano in 2 years. The hotel is very clean, the beach is fantastic, the personnel at the hotel is the best. The food is good.
For the price, you can't go wrong. We will be going back again. This is a hotel with a lot of repeat customers, which says a lot about the place. Complete relaxation during our stay. Ce fut magnifique!!! Gratias Irma, Ernesto a la Llana, Carlos Ernesto, Vladimir ( the Best Pizza maker) Rene, George Luis, Martin, Ana-Margarita, Yamile, Yadarys, Arbanz, Laeticia, y Carlos a la playa,y todo el mundo de Sol Pelicano. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Closeness from the airport. The Beach, The personnel
The weak points
The Airport.
Certified

Great beach and staff.

, Baie D Urfe, QC
2015-01-08
Had a great time with extended family. The Beach was beautiful and the staff worked so hard to make everyone happy. Room was small but clean and comfortable. Food was ok by 3 star Cuban standard at the buffet. The a la carte restaurants were much better, especially the pizzeria. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were fantastic!
The weak points
Did not have hot water every day.
Certified

Cayo largo sol pelicano

, Niagara Falls, ON
2015-01-07
beach, weather and service was great. Food was mediocre as was music. Front desk reception and efficiency was horrible!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service and beaches
The weak points
front desk reception, loud music and monotonous food
Certified

Avoid at all costs

, Newmarket, ON
2014-12-30
No service at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Just terrible!
The weak points
Just terrible!
Certified

Beautiful beaches

, Chatham, ON
2014-12-23
A week of rest and relaxation on a gorgeous beach!
Hotel grounds are tired but the staff were great.
Worth the money for the ocean view upgrade!
The lobby bar makes amazing cappuccinos.
We will be repeat guests! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach! Relaxing atmosphere.
The weak points
Some problems in our room getting hot water
Certified

Paradise on a budget

, Maple, ON
2014-12-02
Fantastic hotel and amazing staff. Spacious and clean rooms. Good food. Great beach, free transfer to exceptional beaches Playa Serena and Playa Paraiso (MUST visit!!!) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great coffee at the Lobby bar in the morning and cold beer in the afternoon at the beach!
The weak points
Mosquitos, can't get rid of them... and mattresses a little bit hard.
Certified

2014-11-26
We chose this hotel based on reviews from both this site and tripadvisor.com
Our expectations were met and overall I would agree that Sol Pelicano is great value for the money. Like any resort, it has both it's good and it's not-so- good attributes.
The Good;
Location is 10 min from the airport.The Staff/Crew are friendly, approachable and helpful. The food was actually very good, particularly the Buffet serving fresh and hot selections which include a grill and pasta bar. There were new items added each day including main presentations
The not-so-good;
The grounds and walkways seemed tired and very much in need of a makeover... Uneven walkways or even sudden elevation changes made it difficult for the women in high shoes. The grounds are in sad shape and are in need of serious help. Drinking water has become a precious commodity and as such you are entitled to one 1.5 litre bottle per day, but readily available to purchase at the snack store. Lastly to my surprise was the amount of "shake downs" readily ocuring by the staff towards guests. We tip regularly as a gesture of kindness and as a way of rewarding good service. We have experienced the same issue at Playa Blanca as well over the past several years. So this is not exclusive to this hotel
We would highly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, Beach, Buffet restaurant,
The weak points
Number of English speaking receptionists. Grounds and walkways, one bottle of water assigned daily per room
Certified

Sol Pelicano

, Ottawa, QC
2014-04-23
Great place to get away. Food good. Remember that it is Cuba and there may be the odd shortage. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Best beach for wave watching, walking or just plain playing in the water. Staff in the Lobby Bar, Ranchon,and Buffet fabulous. Cleaning staff, gardeners and maintenance all friendly and happy to help.
The weak points
No Canadian TV for news and sports or for kids down time.
Certified

Disappointed

, Burlington, ON
2014-04-05
First three days were wonderful, unfortunately I became quite sick for the rest of the holiday and was confined to the room . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nude beach,short distance from airport, 5/6 mins.
The weak points
Food handling,
Certified

Place de reve!

, Greenfield Park, QC
2014-03-09
petite place, excelente pour se reposer, tres bien gere.plage de reve, personnel tres gentil, accueuilant.tres beaux spectacles en soiree.beaucoups des touristes d'Italie et d'Argentine, peu des canadiennes.
plages Paraiso et Sirena de reve!
sera ma destionation pour les prochaines annees!
Bon rapport Qualite/Prix. recommande fortement! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
plage,proprete du site, service, animation!
The weak points
manque en peu des legumes et fruites, mais il y toujours quelques choses!
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Cayo Largo's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?