Starfish Cayo Largo

Starfish Cayo Largo
3.743.743.743.743.74
3.74 based on 898 reviews
#2 of 10 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Largo
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (487)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Give it a day or two.

, Saint Bruno de Montarville, QC
2024-03-07
We were returnees to this hotel so we had high expectations. We were not impressed with check in as we tried to enquire if our old room was available. Unfortunately the staff did not even check and said no. It took 3 days to get beach towels. Luckily we brought our own. Hot water was rationed and figuring out the hours that it was available was difficult. Food for the first couple days was average for Cuba. Then we went into high season and it was better. There are general shortages. No toilet paper in public rest rooms. BUT once you get to the beach and ocean it seems to erase all of the negatives. Yes there is a shortage of chairs and shade but WOW great beach and little or no bugs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The ocean, the beach and the staff. The staff understand the shortages and try their best
The weak points
Lack of shade and chairs in beach area.
Certified

Starfish cayo largo huge decline from last year

, Stratford, ON
2024-02-28
As always the people that work there are amazing and friendly. You will never have an issue there. Rooms are cleaned everyday. Toilet paper was short this time around. Missing in rooms and the public washrooms. Food was a huge disappointment. I know there are shortages and people don't come to Cuba for food. But considering everything that was there last year compared to this year it was a 360 turn. Apples once. No ripe pineapple. Guava 3 days. No cheese until last 3 days and slim pickings. Sandwhich meat only available last 3 days. Butter was hard to get. No beer a few times. No wine other days. No pina coladas. No coffee Veggies there were beats and olives and some green peppers. They had chicken legs and some pork and fish. Pasta always available with a white sauce.
Breakfast was very slim pickings. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
People were awesome. And I believe they are short staffed compared to last year so they worked very hard.
The weak points
Food was obviously weak this time around and on and off supply shortages it changed daily with was was available.
Sanitary measures
Toilet paper missing in bathrooms was not fun.
Certified

Not a good experience

, Gatineau, QC
2024-02-05
This hotel is very clean and some of the staff are very friendly. There was no toilet paper for the duration of our stay. The resort would not give you beer until 6 PM saying they had none, so had to buy my own in the hotel store at 15 US for a 6 pack. The buffet was empty a lot of times and we were always there before 8 am. We paid ALOT of money for an all-inclusive well it was not all-inclusive. I am very disappointed with my trip this year and have been to Cuba about 15 times.

If you want to have a nice beach you need to either take a taxi or the train. The picture of the beach of the resort, is not what it looks like at all. Its false advertising.

There is not much available for lunch, the lunch buffet was mostly empty, only 30 min after opening. Breakfast was the same stuff as the lunch made available. There is a pizza place but was closed more often than opened due to lack of supplies. The grill, we stand in line and there is no more food available once it got to our turn.
This was our first time there and unless it's really cheap we will not be going back. It's not worth the price we paid. It was not all inclusive. Will post pics at a later date . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Maid (not all maids) and Lobby bartenders very friendly. Hotel very clean, including the public bathrooms. 2 out of 3 concierges were very friendly and cared about how our stay was going.
The weak points
No beer, or very little. No toilet paper, we were always told it was on the boat. Buffet was extremely repetitive. Fruit and salad were very scarce. Most mornings, no eggs available. Lunch time the trays were empty after 30 min of being opened.
Certified

A little slice of paradise

, Vaudreuil Dorion, QC
2024-02-02
After many trips to Cuba we decided to try a new location and settled on Cayo Largo as well as a hotel chain we haven't been to yet, Starfish. Upon landing we smoothly went through a quaint, air conditioned airport. The bus ride to the hotel is very short (5-10 minutes).

The hotel itself is a little dated but generally maintained very well. The grounds are well kept and clean. The same translates to the room. We had a 2nd floor room (bungalow 56) with a vaulted ceiling. The air conditioning worked very well with both AC and dehumidifier modes. A big shower with good water pressure but no bathtub. There wasn't a whole lot of storage for all of our clothes. A couple of cubbies in the closet and a few hangers each. The bed had to be the most comfortable and supportive mattress we've experienced in Cuba so far!

The hotel has 2 centrally located pools. The main pool is salt water with a bridge over it to more easily access the pool bar on one side. The other pool is a fresh water kids pool.

We managed to keep up some of our exercise regime as we had access to a fairly well equipped gym over at the Memories resort (10 min walk).

There's one main buffet which serves breakfast and supper. The selection of food was fairly small and there were sections not being used to display and serve food. What was available was very tasty and we never went hungry. With the current situation in Cuba and the availabilities during our stay we ate a lot of beef, pork and fish as well as rice, bread and pasta. There was very little in terms of fruits and vegetables. We had eggs at the start but they ran out during the last couple of days, but we always managed. There was always a pancake chef station during breakfast as well as a pasta chef and grill chefs at supper for cooking fresh food on the spot for you. The lunch buffet at the open air Cabana by the beach was a similar experience with more emphasis on fish and seafood with a meat grill as well. The 2 restaurants that require reservations are at Spoons (International) and the Cabana (Cuban). The food served was similar the the availabilities at the buffet but with a couple of surprises not found there. Presentation was very nice.

Service across the board was great, in typical Cuban fashion and we were always greeted with a smile and an eager willingness to help and make sure our stay was as pleasant as possible. From the lobby, to the buffet/restaurant, maids and butlers, bars, beach and groundskeepers. All of our interactions were fantastic.

Rum as well as many other spirits, beer and water was always readily available.

And the beach! Absolutely stunning water and sand. Usually facing north at the areas and resorts that we've stayed at, it was a nice change facing south. The water was typically more wavey with a couple of calm days. When the water level is low enough beach chairs can be set up down on the lower part of the beach. The first couple of days the level was higher and very wavey so we had to be set up on top and walk down to the beach. There is a nude section off to the left as well as between the Memories resort to the right and Starfish.

There is a free shuttle service to two other off resort beaches. 10-20 minutes away and they are spectacular! Honestly, probably the nicest beaches we have ever been to! Much more flat and accessible. Paraiso beach is more quiet and less busy and Sirenis beach is more busy but has much more options for shade. There's also a restaurant (extra $$ at the time of our visit) and I assume a washroom though we didn't check.

We didn't do any excursions or visit the marina in this trip but we will definitely be coming back and experiencing more of what the area has to offer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach and service
The weak points
Food selection
Certified

Mr.

, Scarborough, ON
2023-06-01
Very nice small resort with all the friendly staff, easy access to all area within minutes [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Small & quiet resort
The weak points
Foods
Sanitary measures
Very clean
Certified

Amazing holiday!

, Cornwall, ON
2023-04-03
Overall, we had an amazing holiday. The staff was absolutely fantastic. The food was the best we had in Cuba so far. The resort is definitely tired/dated and needs updating and repairs but they are in the process of doing so. Our room was clean, air conditioning was good, we had hot water, toilet flushed (crazy how this is important to us lol). It is devastating that the last hurricane destroyed the beach. However, there was enough beach that we still went out everyday and enjoyed it. There were big waves and it was fun to play in. For those who prefer a nicer beach, you could go to playa Sirena. Playa Sirena is gorgeous and you can eat at the buffet for free and get pop and beer for free. There is a free train that will take you there but we noticed that it was unreliable and took a taxi instead ($2US each). Make sure you go early if you want a chair and shady spot. Other important info to know about the beach at the resort, there is a nudist section. They are supposed to stay on their side but we did see a couple individuals walking the beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Amazing staff
The weak points
Tired/dated hotel. Beach is not the best.
Certified

Fantastic March Break trip

, Toronto, ON
2023-03-31
Had a great time back at the Starfish. Last time we were here it was still the Pelicano. Staff are what makes this place great. Food was good with a few minor Cuban hiccups, bar service was great. Eduardo and Eddy at the lobby bar were great. Front desk staff were most helpful. Maria and others in teh buffet were great. We had an oceanview room on 2nd floor was older but very clean and all plumbing and electrics, tv fridge all worked great. Mattress must have been brand new - slept like babies every night. They had Moosehead beers and plenty of Clamato for Caesars - 2 things that im not used to finding in Cuba [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff were great, beach was small but good, food was good, oceanview room nice and clean and functional with great mattress.
The weak points
minor issues for a small isolated island in Cuba - no butter couple days, no cheese one day - certainly didnt affect my trip.
Sanitary measures
not needed
Certified

Home

, Chelmsford, ON
2023-03-25
Amazing ppl made so many friends now [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Workers
The weak points
Wifi
Certified

Okay for the price

, Tilbury, ON
2023-02-26
The best part of our trip would have been the sunset catamaran excursion including snorkeling, starfish, iguanas & a lobster or chicken dinner watching the sunset. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff overall is very friendly. Very nice beach but there's a lot of seaweed.
The weak points
The rooms are very out dated with rusted showers. Also believe there was mold in the A/C units as every morning we would wake up coughing. The food is very bland and repetitive but it gets you by. A swim up bar & more night life would be appreciated.
Certified

Excellent Relaxing Getaway

, Toronto, ON
2023-02-07
My wife and I have been to Cayo Largo before but have never stayed at Starfish ( Pelicano ) , really enjoyed the week , very clean tidy resort , staff were exceptional, always a friendly Ola from everyone, were greeted by Roxanne on arrival at front desk , very courteous, took to our room efficiently, room was in fairly good condition, always cleaned top notch , loads of hot water , air conditioner worked perfect , stayed in 42 block with decent ocean view, visited buffet on arrival, we're lucky to sit in Victor/Janet's area , enjoyed their hospitality and professionalism all week for breakfast /dinner , never actually booked an a la carte , had lobster one night which was an upgrade but well worth it, buffet had lots of selection, some days different but always a lot to select from , even a selection of salads every meal , enjoyed soups , my wife enjoyed the lovely crepe/French toast lady most mornings, dinner pasta station cook was very nice, lunch buffet at La Ranchon by beach good and snack bar/bbq by pool good choices but pizza we found was best lunch .. Drinks were typical Cuba quality, never disappointed, during our visit no Gin or Tequila but otherwise excellent especially slushy lemonades with Havana Club , draft beer was Cristal and nice and cold , cans were a Spanish beer that was quite good , beach bar staff very good, front desk bar had good selection, Spanish coffee etc, nightly shows were just held in lobby , they were ok but difficult for everyone to crowd in , for us this was no big deal , store on site had very limited selection, alcohol prices a bit better than airport, cigars limited , no snacks whatsoever so bring this with you, no sunscreen or bug lotion available, we found certain times of night got some bug bites so wished we had brought bug stuff, we were lucky that the beach was fairly good for our visit , sometimes waves would reach the chairs, we spent every day at beach , ocean was fairly aggressive most days but nice temps, pool we only used twice , it was also good, Sunwing rep Monica was excellent, very helpful and always available, front desk staff excellent, manager always around and helpful, waiters/bar tenders will always help you exchange your Can$$ for tips which is a great help , overall we were very pleased with our stay at Starfish, great value for the $$ , weather was perfect warm temps, nice breeze daily and no rain, congrats to Starfish for an amazing vacation…. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very good staff ..
The weak points
No weak points as far as we are concerned..
Certified

Come for the Beach; Return for the Staff!!

, Vaughan, ON
2023-01-23
What really sets Starfish apart is the staff... Everyone from the receptionists, servers, managers, etc. were all so incredibly kind and attentive to our every concern and need. Even the gardeners and maintenance staff could always be counted on to offer a kind greeting when I passed by on my way to the saltwater pool (very cool experience if you haven't tried it since you become quite buoyant and float effortlessly on the surface). I really got the sense that staff genuinely enjoy working here, and, after speaking to one of the managers (Harold), it was clear that they pride themselves on offering impeccable service. It's no wonder so many veteran resort-goers say that Starfish Cayo Largo was their favourite destination in all of Cuba (especially in the wintertime, since the North of Cuba can actually be too cold for swimming)!

The Beach is steps from the resort, never crowded, and absolutely pristine - I saw the most beautiful sunsets/rises every day over the crystal blue water and soft white sand! Notably, there's also free daily shuttle service to Playa Sirenna, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, where you can ride the catamarans, paddleboats and kayaks, and also eat at the buffet on site for no extra fee!

Food was plenty and delicious (and nothing beats hearing the live Cuban band playing every lunch hour at the beachside buffet!). The Rooms were clean and comfortable. Daytime activities were low-key but fun (I had the privilege of receiving private dance and Spanish lessons from the highly accommodating staff - Gracias, Alfredo y Masiel!). And the Evening Dance & Musical performances blew me away. I was shocked and delighted by the calibre of the artists in this homey hotel, which boasts all the offerings of a classic resort but with the warmth and community of a quaint small town! :)

Two quick anecdotes to underscore how fabulous the staff are:

1) Another visitor told me that she left her whole purse at the bar one night but it had been safely picked up and set aside for her by the bartenders with everything in tact.

2) I suffered a heat stroke on my last day... The receptionist (Janet) saw me struggling to cool off in the lobby and she and the airline rep took the initiative to call the nurse and doctor to make sure I was okay. They even gave me a free late checkout so I could rest and recuperate before flying out that evening. I was in such good hands and felt so well cared for all throughout.

Frankly, I left half my heart here and it is my dream to return.

One tip before you go:

If you are Canadian, get some $1 USD bills for your small tips. Despite what you might read online, Cuban banks do not accept loonies & toonies, so resort workers usually have to collect enough coins to exchange them for CAD bills with guests. Also, do prepare some bills for [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
STAFF Beach Entertainment Food
The weak points
Wi-fi

Disappointed

, Ottawa, HA
2023-01-16
i think its a good hotel but the beach is way to small and theres a 3 foot drop to get to it (i guess this was due to hurricane) they don't have the wild life do to the hurricanes the iguanas are gone and many other animals. i would recommend it in about 3 years when everything has been fixed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
friendly staff nice hotel
The weak points
no wild life beach is terrible
Certified

Gorgeous beach - excellent staff - decent food

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-06
This (Jan 26 - Feb 2) was our 4th time at Pelicano and once again the service was excellent. Some of the same faces that we saw 15 years ago are still there.
The weather was spectacular for the entire 7 days.
We had ocean view room which was great.
We always had hot water for showers.
The food was better than expected, with selections of fish, pork, chicken, pastas, omelet, pancakes. The 2 ala Carter's were also good...that ran out of eggs in the last 2 mornings, but when the sea is rough, the supply boat can't make the trip from the mainland...(we heard that there was no beer for a couple of days the week earlier)
There is a great pizza restaurant but they had no cheese.
The zumzum poolside restaurant was great for sandwiches, fries,etc....the bbq man was busy every day at lunch bbqing chicken and sausage...delicious.
We visited all 3 of the beaches on the west end of the island, with the Mal Tiempo one being our favourite. They have palapas(free) and sun bed rentals(2 pesos each).
The wifi in the lobby (1 peso per hour) was lightning fast, but you have to surf in the lobby area which is lovely and has lots of space.
We did not see mosquitos but still got some bites from these things called no-see-ums... there were also an abundance of house flies everywhere which we never saw on our previous trips. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and Beaches.
The weak points
Wifi in rooms would be great.
Certified

Hotel Pelicano

, Alban, ON
2020-01-23
We were pleasantly surprised! This resort even though not fairly new was very well maintained and according to some in our group who were returning tourists had done a lot of renovations! Everyone is friendly and service is great! Accommodations are well kept and clean!
Entertainment is great also! Too bad the mosquitoes and no see ums were there almost every night as my husband reacts badly to them he was not a happy camper after being bitten so bad !!!
Beautiful beach also with great service there too! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice title. and appropriate

, Strathroy, ON
2019-03-03
Very accomodating. We changed from a 2nd floor to a 1st floor within 1 day. Had a ride with our bags to our rooms: nice. Because we were with returning guests we were welcomed and felt right at home. The rooms were clean and pretty good sizes. The staff went out of their way to involve you in activities. The hotel grounds were large enough to get exercise but not too large to make it a burden to get around. Food was varied and tasty. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were friendly and willing to help. Spoke enough english to be able to communicate. Beautiful grounds. Fast service in the dining rooms a la cartes and pizza place also the rooms were made up quickly each day.
The weak points
Mosquito bites, those mosquitos loved me. Ran out of french fries and eggs.
Certified

Latest visit

, Fournier, ON
2019-01-16
The Pelicano hotel is once again our favourite resort on Cayo Largo, The personnel are outstanding in looking after us. the resort is going through a major painting program where all the buildings are being painted in vibrant colours . The food is very good. , [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Spent an excellent two weeks at the beach and resort, the beach was fantastic. We were about the only ones with a beach to play on.
Certified

Once again

, Stone Mills, ON
2018-08-06
We had the good fortune to discover the Pelicano in January 2003 we were there for 2 weeks and enjoyed it so much we returned 2 weeks later for an additional 2 weeks .
Since then we have returned every year 1 or 2 times with vacations lasting 2 to 6 weeks
February 2019 we will once again return for 4 weeks to our favorite vacation place
We keep returning here because of the beaches and wonderful people there
There is times they run short of supplies but we have always had enough to drink and eat
The rooms dated but are always clean
We always look forward to our return there [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very frendly staff great beaches Clean rooms
The weak points
Sometimes shortages of supplies.

March

, St Catharines, ON
2018-03-26
Older hotel, value for money, staff very helpful, you will not go hungry. Only negative for me was no tonic or soda water. Lol beach amazing. Guys on the beach try really hard, but if you are late no umbrellas left. That is not hotels fault other travelers that take them then only use them for a short time. Overall a very relaxing week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Our family reunion March 2018

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-11
I would rate this hotel a 3 star at most. The band that played at the hotel lobby and restaurants was awesome. The hotel needs some TLC and repairs ie taps, door handles, paint, guest bathrooms. We had a nice room on the second floor with an ocean view. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The lobby was simple but passable. I would suggest a facelift of the resort. I would also suggest a supply of beer each day in the fridge and a few bar huts on the beach and more Palapas on the beach for shade. It is an island with no connection to mainland other than water or flight, I would recommend a warehouse for supplies in the marina area to be overstocked so they don't run into issues as we experienced. It was not the end of the world but oh boy where there a lot of guests complaining. It was annoying. Remember all it is a poor country. We had an awesome vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff!!!! The beach!!! The weather. We had a wonderful time. The nearness to the airport!!
The weak points
Updates and upkeep of room taps, doors, windows, guest bathrooms on resort. Hot water problems. Lack of stock food and beer and soap for the towels. No disco
Certified

Not as good as it was

, Kapuskasing, ON
2018-02-16
we were there 2 years ago and we had no complaints then. unfortunately everything else being the same the food really went downhill at the buffet. some days no juice for breakfast . they had no vodka , they ran out of beer. it just seems like management is not doing a good job of running the place. we won't be going back unless things change ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach , the people
The weak points
the food , management, the resort needs some TLC !

Good value for our money

, Welland, ON
2017-12-31
We had a good time and met some great people. Beach was nice and lots of beach chairs. The pool was very clean (as was the rest of the resort) but too shallow for adult swimmers (1 meter). Food was plentiful and good but varied little from day to day. Very little evidence of any liquors other than local brands. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Probably the friendliest staff of any place we have ever been to and we have been to many all over the Caribbean. Nice beach.
The weak points
The room was clean but we frequently ran out of hot water. Got locked out because door got stuck, bathroom ceiling fell several inches and had to be held up to prevent door from scraping.
Certified

A little piece of paradise

, Toronto, ON
2017-12-28
This was our first trip to Cayo Largo but 6 trip to Cuba. By far this was the best place we've been so far. As with any hotel there are pros and cons.
Pros- Awesome entertainment staff. Larissa, Fran and a few others were wonderful
Lobby Bar- Anita was the sweetest bartender entertaining my 6 yr olds request for drinks and treating him like an adult.
Food- For Cuba, this was surprisingly great. Keilon at the morning buffet and grill at lunch was awesome, Bianca made the best crepes and the staff at Ranchon were the best. The buffet was the same every morning but dinner had a wonderful selection. The Pizzeria was our fave, serving amazing pizzas.
Beach- Despite the left side of the beach being nude, the ocean and beach were spectacular. The sand was like icing sugar.
Room- We ended up with an ocean view which was gorgeous.Our Housekeeper Lala was so nice writing us notes every day. We had another lady after 3 days who was equally as nice.The room was very clean. We always had hot water.
No Disco- Nice to have peace and quiet after 10 pm especially with 2 small kids. Closest disco was at the marina.
Pools- While it was very shallow it was a great area to lounge. Shunky kept the area spic and span. The kids area was awesome with a water slide/playground combo.
Cons- Charging us 2 CUC daily for use of the room safe.
Lobby was a bit dated but the staff was very helpful and friendly
No ice cream at all (important if you have kids)
Lack of options on breakfast and lunch buffet but as mentioned above overall the food was great.
Nude beach. While I don't mind it, it was a bit uncomfortable for my kids as the nude people tended to walk on the "normal" side of the beach without covering up.
Towels/Bedding- Our towels were changed daily but they always had some sort of stains on them. We also found some of the sheets had stains as well.
Mosquitoes- They were really bad the first 3 days. My husband and son were eaten alive despite wearing pants and bug spray. The fourth day-last day they fumigated nightly by plane which made it much more enjoyable.
No fitness facility- I'm not a huge gym person but a fitness centre would have been nice. I chose to run on the beach and around the resort to get exercise.
Kids Club- There is a mini club but it is unsupervised. It would be nice to have a place to drop the kids off for a while.

Overall we had a nice, relaxing week and we will be returning next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and Pool and decent food
The weak points
Charging for the room safe and mosquitoes
Certified

Beautiful Peace Of Mind Resort

, Toronto, ON
2017-07-19
We liked our stay in July 2017. The resort is nice, clean, well kept. Beach is OK, but the water is deep - you can't get more than 15-20' from the shore. Staff is friendly. Room is nice and clean (ask for the room close to the beach - it's also farther from the loud music at the pool). Pool is too shallow - 3' max depth. Food is so-so - usual Cuban resort food, very few meat and fruits, no ice-cream at all. Except of your room and the restaurant there is no air-conditioning anywhere - tough for the tropical climate. Wi-Fi is in a lobby only, for fee. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach, room, staff.
The weak points
Food, pool, lack of air-conditioned places, loud music.
Certified

Relax in paradise

, Brighton, ON
2017-04-01
Cayo Largo is a place for relaxation. The beaches are stunning . One of our new favourite places to vacation in Cuba. The food is what was expected, not amazing but always something good. We rented a four wheeler and explored the island for a day.... totally worth it. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. Tips were appreciated but not expected at the resort. All and all we would return to Cayo Largo and stay at Hotel Pelicano but would also try another hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Disappearing beaches.

, Deux Montagnes, QC
2017-02-02
Travel agencies, hotels or airlines should issue warnings about beach condition. Air Canada did last year but no one else. Hotels should at least offer free transport to other beaches when theirs is washed out. We chose Cayo Largo because it is quiet and has the most beautiful beaches I have seen. To arrive at a resort with no beach is disappointing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff. Close to airport.
The weak points
No hot water for the whole week. There was no beach the 1st day and only a thin strip the rest of the week. Access to the beach was difficult, the hotel could have at least installed a small temporary staircase while waiting for the whole beach to return.
Certified

Pelicano Hotel

, Ottawa, QC
2017-01-27
All was good at the hotel, with a descent variety of food available. Service at front desk was fine, and the chamber maids excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and beach carry this hotel.
The weak points
Looks a little tired, but should improve with Sol Hotels gone.
Certified

Wonderful week

, Kapuskasing, ON
2016-04-10
this is a three star resort with 4 star service and food.the beach is beautiful,the rooms and resort are a bit plain but clean. the people at the resort and in town were all very nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach,the people
The weak points
bug bites

Relaxing Vacation, Expectations Met

, Hannon, ON
2016-02-27
Fabulous beach with variable wind conditions-sometimes green flagged but not for our holiday. We were yellow and red flagged every day so snorkelling from this beach was not possible. We went to Sirena and Paraiso beaches instead, by taxi, 2 CUC per person each way, much calmer. Our beach was nestled between 2 points, both of them red flagged all the time at those resorts,but we fared better. Rooms were dated but very clean, lots of choice for food, the pizza area beside the lobby bar and the beach snack bar being the best; the buffet was pick and choose carefully what you want but always enough choice to never go hungry. A good place to relax as the island is very small, one road, some small sightseeing, lots of time for the beach and beach walking (can walk for hrs.) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach when it is not red flagged, pizza, fresh fish, staff
The weak points
The buffet flow at the cooking stations very slow and cut people off from some of the food, age of the rooms
Certified

Relaxing Holiday

, Belleville, ON
2016-01-31
The hotel is somewhat tired and needs some cosmetic and structural work.Our room was a good size, on the ground floor and the A/C kept it cool, but everything felt damp all week. Lots of hot water and the housekeeping maid kept everything spotless. We received a bottle of water every day. Towels often seemed to be in short supply and face cloths were non-existent. Our room had two twin beds pushed together, which worked well. The safe did not work on arrival, but the next morning it was found to be lacking batteries. The beach was beautiful and we were always able to get a chair. The a la carte restaurants were a nice change, but the food was no better than the buffet.The buffet ranged from fair to okay. Some days/meals were better than others. We found most meals the hot food was cool to luke warm and this is a safety concern. As many people told us, it is the staff that keep people coming back. Everyone was friendly and would do their very best to get anything you needed. They work hard and there are a number of things that would help with organization and workload. Things as simple as signs for lineups, spoons beside the soup and information in the appropriate language. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Housekeeper, wait staff, beach, beach chair availability.
The weak points
Check in process, internet, safety concerns with railings, uneven walkways etc.
Certified

Another great trip to Cayo Largo

, Fort Erie, ON
2015-12-12
5th trip to the island, first time at Sol Pelicano. Room needed some TLC but clean and adequate. Great staff, food was very good overall. Had some rain but overall there were opportunities to enjoy the fabulous beach! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Room
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024