Punta Leona Hotel And Club

4.144.144.144.144.14
Punta Leona Hotel And Club
#1 of 4 hotels in Jaco beach
4.14 based on 21 reviews
Traveller pictures (17)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Recent stay at Punta Leona Hitel, 02/10-17-2019

, Woodstock, ON
2019-02-23
This hitel was not what we were expecting & were initially disappointed, but we did find some short cuts to save all the walking that is involved and we enjoyed our stay, lots & lots of wildlife to be discovered , food was limited to a very small buffet, pool was fantastic, nice & warm & a great shallowness for my shorter hubby who cannot swim, main public beach was not great but private beach was awesome except you must take a shuttle to get there that runs every 1/2 hour, disappointed in the last shuttle was at 5 not allowing for us to view any awesome sunsets which was about 6-6:15 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wildlife &flora , pool
The weak points
Food & distance between rooms & pool & beach , need more consistency in the making of drinks
Certified

Wonderful

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-17
We had a wonderful vacation, everything we expected with a one exception, you need a car to get out and see the area or take the local bus. Taxis are extremely expensive.
You might wish to spend a few dollars on a resort golf cart to explore the hotel area initially as the resort is large, requires a lot of walking and heat takes its toll. Lots of nature, green and beautiful. The food was wonderful, bar drinks and beer very nice. If you expect a high end RIU or Marriott hotel this isn't for you. This is laid back and very pleasant but no glitz. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We loved the resort and plan to return in 2020. The food was excellent. The staff and wait staff super.
The weak points
Access to off-site was disappointing, $60 US return to travel off site to Carara Park and back. There should be a local tourist representative, non-commission to offer assistance and info. Traveled all that way, would have liked to have seen a lot more.
Certified

First time to Costa Rica.. AMAZING experience!

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-28
My daughter and I just stayed at Punta Leona Hotel & Club and had an amazing experience. Lots of wildlife and many activities to enjoy nature at this resort. There are 3 pools and 2 different beaches, therefore, you have your choice depending on your mood. Food was good. The buffet is on a smaller scale than some large resorts.. therefore, felt like none was wasted. You order at the other restaurants, therefore, fresh and hot... and the pizza was amazing! Definitely will return! Pura vida! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, clean, lots to do, lots of nature, great food!
The weak points
Sometimes a line up for buffet and had to wait to be served, just can't be in a hurry or give yourself extra time if you need to be somewhere.
Certified

A Great, Exotic, Nature Getaway!

, Mississauga, ON
2013-05-28
The trip was truly amazing. We came to a lovely place, filled with nature, in the middle of a forest! You could see monkeys while eating breakfast, or macaws from the tree tops, or watch iguanas march through your restaurant at lunch. Overall a great experience, and we recommend strongly to go for the bird watching walks, or the night walk! We also went on the crocodile river tour and the zip lining tour, they were both great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beaches, the nature, and the cuisine! The Aztec soup is a must try in restaurant on the beach .
The weak points
There were not many ( very little ) chairs at the beach, so try to get there early to get a spot!
Certified

Great Natural surroundings!

, Sechelt , BC
2013-01-11
Loved the butterfly garden, beaches and lovely trees! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location, stunning beaches, good service, basic but clean and comfortable rooms. Kitchen fairly well equipped. Plenty to do, especially for the kiddies. Lots of friendly Costa Rican guests.
The weak points
Restaurants are uninteresting and all the same (except the one Buffet). Food is decent, though.
Certified

Punta Leona in Costa Rice

, Mississauga, ON
2012-12-30
So much more than a 3* all inclusive - a private beach and pool club with nature reserve and incredible wildlife. Monkeys, Coatis, Macaws, Toucans everywhere - often visiting at breakfast. Nothing like the standard all inclusives that are found elsewhere. Owned and run by Costa Ricans with most of the visitors being local Costa Rican families too. Very family friendly with a naturalist on site to give guided bird, butterfly and jungle tours. Rooms are simple, and the site is large so not suitable for people seeking luxury beachfront villas. We loved it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wildlife and forests, on site naturalist, beaches, pools, family atmosphere, local flavour
The weak points
Very simple rooms, evening entertainment limited
Certified

Great green & nature lover vacation

, Sutton, ON
2012-02-12
This was a great resort. Language was a bit of a problem. Food should be marked in English. Everything else was fantastic. Alex, who does the bird work,butterfly tour and the night walk,
;among other things is a fabulous guide. The rooms are basic some have a limitless mould.i [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Alex. ..........Great tours and lots to see
The weak points
Language
Certified

Enjoyable week

, Sutton West, ON
2012-02-11
After reading reviews before we left we were really aprehensive about this resort. The amount of construction happening will definitely change this resort . It was very busy on the weekend with the locals. It was nice to see them all enjoying such a great resort however the cars parked everywhere and the noise level was irritating with horns honking and engines revving for three days of our5 day vacation. You must realize that this resort is a full days travel to arrive and depart. We had to be at Toronto Int. at 330am and we didn't arrive to the resort until 3pm . Two people at the desk to check everyone in and no shuttle to our room available. We all (6) piled into a delivery truck to take us up hill to our rooms thru all the dirty road construction. Then we realized the buffet wasn't open until 6 pm. It was a long day.
Other than reception all the other staff were amazing! Make sure you meet Alex (bird guide)
He will help you with anything including recommended excursions. He made our trip and this resort should be giving him a raise! One more thing, the signage at the buffet is all in Spanish and a lot of the staff don't speak English so it makes selecting a challenge ! It's a small thing that they could do to make it easier for the guests. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It is a beautiful property full of amazing wildlife !
The weak points
Noisy busses idling at the main restaurant early every morning for tour groups was very irritating for all the cabins along the road!
Certified

Great Vacation

, Waterdown, ON
2011-03-10
We've just returned from a great vacation at Punta Leona. We would definitely go back to this hotel.
Pro's: It is quiet, not too busy, very clean, located in the forest where you can observe the wildlife. We've seen monkeys, macaws and toucans, iguanas beside lots of other birds, butterflies, and mammals without leaving the property. They are offering guided day and night walks free of charge. There is a butterfly farm and a ZIP line on the property, as well.
The restaurant is romantic, the service very good. The food was good, but don't expect the variety you get at big all inclusive chains.
You can get great trips through the tour operator to many nice places. We really enjoyed the trip to Arenal and hot springs, although the drive was too long, the one to Manuel Antonio National Park and the one to Tortuga Island.
Con's: It is pretty isolated and there is very limited entertainment
which for us were a pros. If you are looking for nightlife, disco, this is not for you. The Salvemar rooms, where our accommodation was are fairly far from the Reception and the shuttle is running only every half hour between 9:00am and 5:00pm. So if you are with small children, or you can not walk too much, this place is not for you.
We've got everything we were looking for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quite, great for wild life watching. Great service.
The weak points
Isolated, shuttle runs only every half hour.
Certified

Nice place-very hot

, Acton, ON
2011-02-27
Liked it very much,great place to see nature & wildlife [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service & wildlife
The weak points
limited places to eat
Certified

Great place to relax

, Toronto, ON
2010-12-30
We found this place great. Amazing location inside the nature preserve. It is a nature lovers dream. Great service, great food, overall had a very good time which was beyond our expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, relaxing nature
The weak points
Rooms were a bit of a walk from the beaches
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Jaco beach's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Seniors Couples Singles

Are you a hotel owner?