Media Luna Resort And Spa

3.733.733.733.733.73
Media Luna Resort And Spa
#1 of 9 hotels in Roatan
3.73 based on 142 reviews
Traveller pictures (58)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Fantastic Vacation

, Amaranth, ON
2019-02-23
Very nice ,quiet secluded,out the way resort.Food was great.Only 1 bar with basic drinks.Service was excellant.Landscaping was beautiful with lots of birds and lizardsDid not have any problem with sand fleas or mosquitos Snorkling and diving paradise Pigeon Cay snorkling tour will be a great surprise and well worth it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
One of the best in the Carribean for food.Might be a little plain but everything tasted great
The weak points
Not good for people with mobility issues.The resort is hilly and stairway only to get to beach.
Certified

Snorkellers/Divers paradise

, Caledonia, ON
2018-07-26
Excellent vacation with friends. We went in July so it was very quiet, I hear it's quite busy in prime time. The beach is small but clean and opens out into a bay that is very quiet. We hired a driver (Ever) and went to West Bay and West End, definitely worth the trip! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Snorkelling/diving incredible. Excellent staff. Food was very good. Very clean. Entertainment staff were VERY friendly. Coffee bar
The weak points
bar closes at 11:00 pm, no hot tub, no gym, no A la Cartes but do offer 'menu' meals 4 times a week

MEDIA LUNA

, Stony Plain, AB
2018-04-04
Would definitely go back but only for a week this time because the beach is too small & you cant walk it. I would also suggest water shoes since its very rocky getting in but wonderful all the same when you are in. I would take my paddle board & for sure you should take a floaty device because it was so hot in Roatan that you needed to be on or in the water! Its very peaceful & a great spot to meet people if you want to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cabins instead of hotel, staff is so friendly, food was tasty, nice pools & decks. If you need extreme R&R this is the resort.
The weak points
entertainment is just ok, not a lot to do at resort unless you snorkel or dive but they do have kayaks
Certified

Nice quiet resort

, Peterborough, ON
2017-12-08
Resort staff was amazing, food was really good, great beach...nice accommodation but need upgrading. Our shower had water going all over the floor and rooms are a bit dated. Beach is nice and private, entertainment crew and all of the staff are amazing. Could use better alcohol and better selection of both drinks and beer. Bring in local beer like Berena, Salva Vida and Imperial and get rid of Stroh's!! Great place for quiet, remote vacation, really enjoyed it but makes for long days when rainy...would have rather have been at West Bay on those days. If you don't mind the isolation and remoteness of the resort then you'll love it here...more positives than negatives that's for sure. Nice snorkeling here as well, not the best on the island but better than most Carribean destinations! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, food, entertainment, coffee shop (Rony & Alex are the best!), Kenny the bartender, entertainment crew, variety in buffet, beach, beauty of the resort
The weak points
alcohol & beer selection, rooms a bit run down - showers in desperate need of upgrades.
Certified

Media Luna Resort, Roatan, Honduras

, Dugald, MB
2016-12-18
The Media Luna Resort & Spa in Roatan, Honduras was a very nice hotel. However this is not the place to be if you're mobility is in anyway handicapped. Capability to walk on uneven surfaces is a must. Everyone at this resort were extremely friendly and very helpful. They went out of their way to please you. The resort is far away from any of the tourist areas. It is close enough to town if you want to travel by car for 1/2 - 1 hour. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean and friendly staff. Food was very good.
The weak points
Lots of bugs, mosquitos, sand flys. Everyone gets bitten, there's no escaping the bugs even when using spray, mosquito coils and bed nets!
Certified

Awesome 2 weeks!!

, Saint Leonard, QC
2016-08-05
Stayed here for 2 weeks (July 25th to august 8th) service was excellent, food was great, and the animators were so much fun to hang out with! Shout out to Denis and his team!!! ;) and for the divers, this is the place to go!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, service, scuba diving and snorkeling
The weak points
Beach span is small but beautiful

“Quaint Unique Quiet - wonderful setting”

, New Tecumseth, ON
2016-07-11
3 of us - Wife and I and our 14 year old boy stayed March Break 2016 -read description and reviews the last few months- (below) it ended up to be exactly what we wanted/as reviewed . Would recommend this resort for not just divers and snorkelers ( fantastic reef is 100 metres away from dive shop) -but just for pure relaxation with no crowds . It was sooo quiet- even when nearly full Monday to Friday - and then when mainlanders/locals stayed on weekend - still not all that busy - no fighting for loungers anywhere . Activity crew- especially Kelly Moses were wonderful - genuine people-who enjoyed their jobs . Food - wonderful - far better than Cuba DR and Jamaica 4 stars (Wicked HAMburgers one day for lunch) - repetition is not a concern - amphitheater restaurant is unique.All fish dishes were great - french fries/chips - (home made) at lunch were good (most batches) .The wine - Red - the worst home made could not be worse than what they tried to serve - no one drank it- the white - needed 7up to cancel sourness .. It is the Caribbean - the rum is good . The Beer (Breda) in cans was good - low end German import .The wifi was decent - in reception and restaurant .

Recommendations to management - No massage displays at dinner -way tooo tacky - cut the Spa name out-it is not a Spa . Replace broken umbrellas - (2) does not look well - use ventilation fans in bathrooms - to prevent mold . other than that - wonderful cabanas - very unique - so glad no elevators- this resort is not for the very infirm-Explain why the activity crew stand at entrance every meal - as most members do not have great English - and are shy to ask if they can sit with you -
Future visitors - bring sandals you do not need and shirts - backpacks - school supplies - the hotel will give to charity - ask at reception for 1 USD bills - Tip generously - and do not forget the grounds people - especially Carlos the beach and pool guy - what a nice guy- his dream was fulfilled with my Nike sandals - average wage there is 50USD/ month -activity crew - 200 USD - a dollars goes a long way .Enjoy the Media Luna - and I hope the owners upkeep -so can visit again soon .

Room Tip: 150 is good -near to reception-and wifi bring your own snorkel gear-50 bucks at sportschek [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location- Staff -
The weak points
Booze - poor drinkable but- not the wine

Heaven on earth

, Brantford, ON
2016-07-07
Well I have been blessed from the Lord to visit this place now 12 times. And everytime it gets better.. I have fallen In love with the staff and management and even to the maids and garderners. Now this place might not be for everyone, You must like good food, great atmopher,like to laugh, love the ocean, stress free , above average accomadations. Diving,and a peace with nature. If your the up tight person...go to cancun...I have a family of 4 and feel 100percent safe. Hope everyone gets to exsperence this Heaven on earth exsperence as much as family and friends have. Pappiiiiii [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food Wine Staff
The weak points
No,free massages

Great hotel in Caribbean

, Oshawa, ON
2016-07-01
I have been to this hotel 6 or 7 times with friends and by myself. When I travel by myself I feel very safe. There is excellent security at the resort.
The staff at the reception desk are great. They are the nicest reception staff I have met. I have travelled to many places in the Caribbean and I just keep going back here!!!!! I call it my second home and all the staff treat you like family. They have many customers from around the world that keep coming back year after year.

You will the grounds are really clean and well-kept. You get your own individual cabana so you have no one above you, below or beside you. The rooms are very private and quiet. The rooms are very spacious. They are air-conditioned and there is s fridge in each cabana.
You get two bottles of water in your fridge when you check in. Keep these bottles and you can refill them with water at the bar, lobby or wherever you see the bottled water machines in the resort. You can't really drink the tap water on the island. You can buy bottled water on the island when you go on tours. The ice at resorts and bars is safe because they use purified water. There is a buffet and there is all types of different food every day. They also have snacks at the pool every morning. Something different everyday. They also have special a-la-carte meals. You will have to check with Becky and Kimberley at the reception.

Lorenza the manager goes out of her way to make sure that you have the best holiday and every time I come home I say it was the best holiday. It always tops the holiday before. I don't know how, but it does. They have daily activities. The scuba diving is fantastic. There are daily trips to different places and events. There is something for everyone.
Sometimes the Internet is down but it always comes back and let's face it that happens at home. And the Internet is included in the price. A lot of places in the Caribbean charge a lot to use the Internet by the hour or day and it can get very expensive. I know because my son had to get a package from home when he went to Cuba (and it was so expensive).
The island is so beautiful. The people are fantastic and tourism is their number one source of income for most people. I have travelled for many years and I have travelled to many different parts of the Caribbean (I have been to Mexico, Jamaica, Cuba, Panama, Dominican Repulic, Barbados and Bahamas as well as Florida, Portugal, Ireland and coast to coast in Canada and throughout the USA) and I have met many staff at these different resorts but if I could only travel to one place it would be to my second home, Roatan. Even my friends and family know how much I love it and why I call it my second home. Every person I have met at the resort and off are lovely. They treat you with true kindness that comes from the heart. They love their jobs and family life is very important to them and they treat each person like they are family. You will see that when you check in. Make sure you tell them Miss Carole says hello!!!! They want to make sure you have the best time. And if you happen to be there when I'm there (usually in February/March) just ask at the front desk and they will find me. If you need to know anything or want to go anywhere just check with Becky or Kimberley.
Miss Lorenza is there usually everyday (except her day off) and she always wants to make sure you are having a great holiday. Since I have been going I have many friends on the island. I have met doctors from Doctors Without Borders. I've attended a church with a friend I met on the island and now I'm part of her family.
From the moment you get there and are met by the people at the airport until the time you leave you will wish that everyone at home was as nice as the people in Roatan!!!! Not that everyone at home is not nice. There are no clubs on the resort but there are buses that go to the clubs.
I gave met many people young and old and there is something for everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are exceptional. The scuba diving is fantastic. The resort is very peaceful but there is a lot to do on the island and the staff is there to make sure you have the best time.
The weak points
The holiday is always too short!!!!!!!!

Dream Come True

, Scarborough, ON
2016-06-23
I just returned from my stay at Media Luna on June 20th, it was my second visit to Media Luna, and of course it did not disappoint and was better than the first time. I think I fell in love again. There are no words to fully explain how beautiful this place is. But more than just the beauty, it is the people that work there that make the experience absolutely wonderful. From the moment you step off the plane to when you unfortunately have to leave, every person you meet at Media Luna always greets you with a smile.
The food and the cooking/serving staff are perfect. The food was always fresh and I loved the fact that you get a little taste of authentic food there. Thank you very much to all the serving and cooking staff who were always ready to get you whatever you needed.
The rooms at Media Luna are very spacious and have everything you could ever want. The balcony is such a perfect touch, sitting out there was one of my favorite things to do. Thank you to the cleaning staff, the rooms were always so clean.
A BIG SPECIAL THANK YOU TO THE ANIMATION TEAM, who honestly made my experience there so amazing. Specifically thank you to Alberto, Tyron, Andrea, Umberto, Fernanda, and Kenny (Bartender). Each and every one of them made my experience there so special, it felt as if we have been friends for years. They made my vacation so much more special, filled with laughter, amazing memories and people who i can call friends. Truly a big thank you.
Media Luna is a perfect vacation and if you love to snorkel or scuba, it is the place to be.
Can't wait to go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Strongest points for this resort is the animation team, the snorkel opportunities right off the beach, and the people in general
The weak points
Honestly there are no weak points.

Wonderful

, Peterborough, ON
2016-03-30
Love the private cabanas. Also, each has private veranda with hammock.Small resort means staff and guests get to know each other and newfriends are made on site. Very pretty paths to walk, several small beaches, walk around bay to altetnate decks for suntanning or views. Awesome tiered seating in restaurant. Early evening entertainment and lively outdoor dance parties. Huge bathrooms, king beds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Private cabanas with decks and hammock. Snorkling. Several small beaches, pools, and seating areas.
The weak points
Isolated....excursions too expensive

Anglophones need not apply

, Guelph, ON
2016-03-02
Nice concept , but falls short on execution [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Individual cabins. Good snorkelling Large bathroom with 2 sinks, rain shower
The weak points
Remote, not easy to travel the towns on the island, Caters to francophones , more than anglophones. Dive shop has the least useful and most unfriendly staff of any dive shop I have ever used, in over 7 yrs and 200 dives! Bugs seem to be deet proof
Certified

Better deals out there

, Belle River, ON
2016-02-24
Right from the airport there was confusion about transportation..ended up 3 vehicles had to be used.Check in was ok for some..our room was ready but the maid hadn't turned in our key..not very helpful or caring at front desk.Most of the other workers seemed to care more..especially wait staff..bartenders didn't really seem to appreciate the tips. Very laid back resort with really nice snorkeling right off the beach.Trip to Little French Key was way overpriced and taxis to West Bay are expensive..although food and drink was reasonable there.Would not go back to Honduras again..Mexico seems to be a better deal and the people are friendlier. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Snorkeling..quaint cabanas but they need work.
The weak points
front desk personnel are terrible..some of the animation team were rude..sand fleas eat you alive..beach chairs in disrepair..some rooms are close to a noisy compressor
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Bala, ON
2014-12-03
Aesthetically beautiful resort.

Individual Cabanas with almost 300 sq. ft. of living pace 100 sq. ft. bathroom and over 200 sq. ft. private deck. Bathroom has rainfall shower, two sinks, toilet and bidet. King size bed. Reasonably big flat screen t.v.

Main area has large lobby, 2nd floor games room and leads to the large theatre room where all meals are served. Tiered levels of tables and chairs.

Food was tasty and there was a reasonable selection daily. Set meal times of 7-9:30 a.m. for breakfast, 12:30-2 p.m. for lunch and 6:30-8:30 p.m. for dinner. Some snacks available at the bar between meals. The resort doesn't offer 24 hour all inclusive meals and drinks but it was never advertised as such. The bar is open from 9 a.m. until 11 p.m. so there's a 14 hour window to get drinks.

Friendly and helpful staff. Many have a good command of English so I didn't have to use my broken Spanish very often.

Great resort for rest and relaxation. Ideal for couples looking to spend time together. Not a party resort- if that's your thing, try the sister hotel - Henry Morgan in West Bay.

Two man-made beaches which were fine. Tiered resort meaning that there were lounge chairs at the pool level, then a level with wicker furniture, then a row of lounge chairs and the bottom row of lounge chairs at the beach. Never had a problem finding a place o sit and relax.

Great resort for diving. Boat dives, reef dives from the dock, shark, wreck and night dives available. Some divers would go out 2 or 3 times a day. Prices reasonable.

Not a lot of activities going on because half of the patrons were out on dives but yoga, stretching, water aerobics and pool volleyball happened regularly.

Bring bug spray. Tiny little no see ums will find you throughout the resort. Itchy swelling the next day- bring After Bite Gel. Best to use bug spray then tanning lotion.

Avoid getting sick here or anywhere by 1)wash your hands regularly, 2) don't change your diet too much, 3) realize that drinking lots of alcohol over a week may cause tummy concerns. Use common sense. I like going to the two specialty tables where food is cooked to order. Eggs any style and breakfast enchiladas are usually two options in the morning, the usually have a pasta station for lunch and dinner and a special meat entre for dinner like pork roast.

Pool is nice but a little shallow- about 3-1/2 feet deep. Ocean is shallow and warm. Use water shoes to protect against coral and sea urchins but otherwise all is good.

Resort is a little isolated and taxi fares are high and bizarre. Taxis charge per person. If 1 person was going somewhere, the ride would cost say $20. If 4 people were going, the same ride would cost $80. Same car, same driver, same amount of gas. It wasn't a problem since we didn't feel the need to leave except for a couple of group excursions.

Full day island tour at $75 was worth it and we had an hour at the Henry Morgan Resort for drinks and lunch to get a feel for the sister resort.

Overall the resort was great and gave me what I was looking for- rest and relaxation with a great sense of security and comfort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Individual cabanas made it feel private. Friendly staff.
The weak points
Taxi costs.
Certified

Good now but will be better in a few years.

, Pickering, ON
2014-03-26
Honduras will be quite the vacation spot in the near future.
We relaxed by the pool drinking endless rum drinks and sunning ourselves for 12 hours daily. It's what we wanted to do and it was all we did. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful weather. One day was overcast, the rest were all 29C Highs and 24C lows. There was plenty of variety at the buffet restaurant. The wooden deck throughout was impressive. The lush foliage was beautiful. Quiet and relaxing resort.
The weak points
There isn't very much shade: there are only a few umbrellas and no shelters. There is only one bar and the selection is limited to 10 mixed drinks or pop. I'd like to see a swim-up bar. The DJ was no good at reading his audience.
Certified

Escape to Rest and Relaxation

, Singhampton, ON
2014-03-21
We had a fantastic time at the Media Luna Resort and Spa. We would definitely return to this resort in the future. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. This resort offers a very relaxed environment. It is very nice, small, quiet, remote and private. If complete escape to rest and relaxation are what you are seeking then this is the resort for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A nice, small, quiet, remote, private resort. Very clean. A very relaxed environment that provides a very pleasant escape from crowds of people and activity. Geared for total relaxation
The weak points
If you like lots of activity and crowds, this is not the place for you
Certified

Excellent Vacation

, Orangeville, ON
2014-03-19
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway and you like to snorkel this is the ideal location. The cabanas are well spaced and you have your own deck and hammock. The food is great, lots of fruit and salads, your choice of vegetables, pork, chicken and fish. Fresh bread two soup choices, you will not go hungry. The staff is very polite and friendly and ask you if you would like to join in the activities but the do not try to force you to participate. There is a games room a small gym and free wifi in the lobby if you want to stay in touch with family and friends back home. By eleven pm everything is quiet, in my opinion this is a plus for this hotel ! But the best feature is the snorkelling right off the dive dock. The variety of fish is amazing ! So if you are looking for a relaxing getaway this hotel will meet your needs ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great snorkelling Good Food Friendly staff Quiet and relaxing
The weak points
Sand fleas like to bite the guests
Certified

Somewhat below expectation

, Mallorytown, ON
2014-03-08
Snorkelling was great! Food was below expectation. There was a lack of choices and variety particularly for breakfast. If you're a light breakfast eater, there is no yogurt or cottage cheese and the margarine for toast is like lard. There was often a shortage of wine glasses and coffee mugs. Fruit were traditional choices like watermelon and cantaloupe that you can get at home. Ran out of white wine (in bottles) once and ran out of beer at restaurant once although it was available at the bar. The beach is almost non-existent and you have walk over stones at the water's edge. Not much sandy bottom. However, snorkelling is great at and around the diving centre and that was the basis for our decision to go to this resort since we had read all the negatives before going. This hotel should be rated no more than 3 stars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great snorkelling. Cleanliness. Staff were great.
The weak points
Almost no beach. Sand fleas. Stoney bottom at water's edge. We could often smell sewage in the bathroom and the shower leaked all over the floor. Lack of food choices, wine glasses and coffee mugs. Not much to do if you don't dive or snorkel.
Certified

Great Hotel!

, Chateauguay, QC
2014-03-05
We had a great week at the Media Luna Hotel. We stayed from February 24th until March 3rd. Rooms are beautiful, location is nice, there is always a breeze so you never get too hot. There is always a variety of food and we never went hungry. There is a snack served at the bar an hour before lunch & dinner. Drinks were always tasty! A week in paradise [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Secluded location, really friendly staff, amazing coral reefs
The weak points
It's a small beach but there is always enough room
Certified

Was hoping for more...

, Chatham, ON
2014-03-02
This is a very small resort. There were lots of deserted rooms, or rooms being renovated near the dive shop. This is a very tired resort. There has been no upkeep. The workout room is disgusting. The workers work hard in the dining room but it is mainly do it yourself, help yourself. The only thing they do is clear your dishes. This resort could be better but they need to do some work; landscaping, maintenance and improving customer service. The worker that brought you your lawn chair cushions was very nice and hard working. The bar on the deck, well there only is one, it looks like it has black mold on the electrical sockets. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The weather.
The weak points
Was advertised as adults only but there were kids there. The resort is very tired looking. Entertainment was very poor.
Certified

Below expectations for the price

, Timmins, ON
2014-02-19
We got eaten alive by no-seeim bugs. Itchiest vacation of our lives. The grounds need to be cleaned up if this problem is going to be addressed. Had to have our cabin fumigated twice for onslaught of ants.....thousands of them crawling up the outside of the building twice during our 7 day stay. Food variety was limited. Bring lots of bug spray. Snorkeling was fine and Kayaks available. Nice area for these activities. Housekeeping was lacking. Floors did not seem to be swept on a daily basis. Shortage of face cloths and towels, at times. Pool was fine but cleaning occurred around 10 am. Grounds needed cleaning earlier. Water from the tap was not drinkable but drinking water was available at different places in the main area. Some smell from the water bottles (little sulfur) provided for drinking water. People were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People were friendly
The weak points
Bugs, bugs, bugs. Limited menu.
Certified

Great Time

, Plattsville, ON
2014-02-19
We had a great time. Yes there are some improvements needed. The road going into the resort needs a lot of work done on it. The staff needs to learn more English as it took us at least 20 minutes for the waiter in the restaurant to understand that we wanted to order a bottle of red wine. Sand fleas a huge problem. I came home with over 200 bites and I did use bug spray.
Now for the positive. The check in was quick and the cabannas are fantastic. The food was what you would expect, but you do not go hungry. The beach is small but well maintained. The island is beautiful and the tour with Miss Rose was very informative. She does know her island. If you like seafood go on the trip to Gio's. My mouth is still watering, it was fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We loved the layout of the restaurant. Unlike others where you can hardly hear the ones talk you are dining with the different levels hear take care of that problem.
The weak points
Staff needs to learn more English if they are going to promote tourism.
Certified

Quiet relaxation

, Bonfield, ON
2014-02-08
Good relaxing vacation nice and quiet. Not a star more like a 3 but we knew what to expect. food is average and became a little repetitive, a bbq would have been nice for all of the Canadians. Wish the booze was a little better, liquor was ok but beer was American not local. Lots of available chairs and the deck areas around the pool and beach were nice. hard to find some shade at times but we aren't complaining as we went for the sun. There are mosquitoes and sand fleas and we did get a few bites however we never needed our bug spray. Maybe it is our norther Ontario blood but we found the bugs easily tolerable while others had large amounts of visible bites. Room & deck was nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Snorkeling from shore was best I had on any tour. Friendly staff that did not pester us to play games when we declined. Omelette guy was awesome and waiters were very nice and most tried very hard.
The weak points
Food was a little sub par and no real food if you missed a scheduled meal, snacks at bar were minimal and just before meals. A weekly BBQ would be awesome. Local beer with a few in room fridge to enjoy on deck or in hammock and a better wine for dinner.
Certified

Papi!!!!!!!!!!

, Brantford, ON
2014-01-20
My family and I adore this resort, from the staff, papi!!!!! Manja manja .. Lol.. The resort was like being in a jungle with your own cottage. The rooms were totally cozier than most. Food was out standing . Fish... Wow!! Dont listen to the other critics they eat McDonalds on a regular bases and wouldn't know good food. The diving was awsome.. Shout out to the crew, Derry,Lewis,Ricko, and the captain Kevin. Special shut out to the servers which made are holiday experience amazing, David, elgardo and all my papis.... Lol.. This is a making of something special... See you guys soon..... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, diving and snorkelling ,room. Ect..
The weak points
Mini bar.
Certified

Terrible

, Aurora, ON
2013-12-04
We knew it's a rain season, expected some wet during the week. But not like that for sure: 4 days of pouring water, crazy wind, thunderstorm; 2 days of shower, 1 day of sun clouds. Knew food is not that good - but breakfast without yogurt, oatmeal, natural juice, boiled eggs, vegetables?... Service and entertainment are very inferior.
But all those things are nothing comparing to the beach and ocean- really beautiful at first,with a reef good for snorkeling - on a second day of our vacation it got covered with a tons of garbage!!! They said it came from the main land, washed by heavy rain...Stayed there for days!...No comments. Our long-waited vacation was ruined!!! Never come back, neither our friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms/bungalows are really good, spacious and private.
The weak points
Poor service, practically zero entertainment, small choice of food. And very dirty beach and ocean - they said bks of the rain season, hardly cleaned it in 4 days...
Certified

BEST place to go on the island

, Gatineau, QC
2013-04-22
Food was excelent. Team work was great, I even saw the owner greating guests at the airport arrival and departure. Private casa's for everyone were clean, private, confortable beds, and well renovated. Great activities during the day: In pool: (stretching, aquafitness, volleyball), walking group at 4pm. Kayaking, snorkling, diving centre. I went deep sea fishing and hotel cooked fish and reserved private tables decorated with flowers for us. Island tour showed lots of the island. Beaches were beautifull and in a bay away from huge waves. Gorgeous flowers everywere on the resort. Night intertainment : show, kareoke, profesionnal smooth romantic singer. Never missed out on anything and staff was calm, smiling, profesional, respectful. Free wi-fi in the lobby. Located alone at the end of the island, so harder to access to buying souvenirs, but island tour or shopping tour covers it all, great because not harrased by locals or boats on beach. The hotel was fully reserved of guests and it still looked empty, so I didn't feel over crowded. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean, quick, great food, activities, and staff
The weak points
lots of sugar juices, no regualr plain orance juice in the morning.
Certified

Relaxing vacation

, Milton, ON
2013-04-17
Overall good vacation. The resort is beautiful, in a nice quiet, secluded location. We travelled with nolitours and Diane was our rep. She was great the first day, but didn't see her again until at the airport.
Reception - was awful on arrival, we arrived at night, handed our towel cards, remotes and told room number. We were given no direction on where to even begin looking for the room, and we were treated quite rudely by staff when we asked for some direction. At night there is very little lighting so it was very confusing. Lucky we did not require help from the front desk for the rest of the week.
Staff - very helpful and friendly, great staff at the diving centre. Restaurant staff a little confusing as everyone is wearing something different, no uniform.
Rooms - clean, spacious, private deck with hammock was wonderful! Definitely pay for the upgrade to ocean front, it's worth it!
Food - the food was ok, mostly dinner was cold, not a lot of options. Usually one type of meat at each meal, and always cold. There is an a la carte option which is in the same restaurant, but with a different menu.
Beach - beautiful, but very small. No shade umbrellas on the beach, only around the pool. Any shaded chairs were always gone very early in the morning as there were not that many. Lots of bugs, so don't forget the bug spray!
Dive shop - very good, although slightly disorganized. Two tank dives in the morning leaving at 0830, and a single tank dive in the afternoon. Nice reef right off the dive dock. 2 boats, one small and one bigger, used one or the other never both. So the dive boats were very crowded.
Excursions - we took part in a shark dive arranged by the dive shop, definitely worth it although slightly disorganized (5 people booked, 3 were told to meet in the lobby and 2 were told to meet at the dive shop. This caused a lot of confusion causing us to leave late and be rushed at the shark dive location.) We also went zip lining with pirates of the Caribbean, go through the hotel, it is cheaper and they provide transportation. Zip lining can be booked at any time, as it only takes an hour. Also, although it is booked through the hotel, you pay when you arrive at the zip line site. Definitely inquire about when cruise ships are in port as everything is very busy on those days.
This resort is not near others and at least an hour from the west end area. It's very quiet and secluded, great for divers. There are a lot of stairs throughout the resort (in the restaurant, to the beach, to you room, with multiple levels of deck), something to keep in mind for those with limited mobility. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms, resort grounds, staff, aqua adventures (dive shop)
The weak points
Food, reception
Certified

Exceeded expectations

, Ottawa, ON
2013-03-16
I was quite impressed with the resort facilities and staff. Roatan expect. is a wonderful place to visit. You won't be disappointed if you book a massage with Isabella. Her deep tissue massages are the best you can expect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
rooms, spa services, gardens
The weak points
remoteness, cost of transportation
Certified

Great resort, with some weak spots

, Toronto, ON
2013-03-16
Media Luna is really beautiful, both the grounds and buildings are lovely. My husband and two kids, 9 and 11, had a great week. Management (absent during our trip) should make some simple changes to improve operations: better presented information on hotel-run excursions, dive trips and island events/restaurants/shopping. There are no pamphlets in the lobby or even a weather forecast. Maps were kept behind the front desk, so you had to ask if they had any. We learned about several excursions - from other guests - too late to attend. The hotel also needs better basic health care equipment on site -- I fell down stairs the first morning of our trip and was shocked that there were no crutches or even tensor bandages at the hotel. My husband was told to take a taxi to the hospital in town and buy crutches, a cost of about $150. And as many reviews indicate, the food is not great. That said, we found something at every meal that was pleasant -- pasta was usually a good bet and the Honduran food night was the best offering. The night time shows / dances were not great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bungalows, grounds, and site overall are outstanding. The reef just at the edge of the bay is stunning and the beach is great; good for kids. Most staff were kind and helpful. Our room, despite the mess of 2 boys, was kept wonderfully clean.
The weak points
Information on trips, island features poor; no maps/pamphlets in the lobby. The food was pretty poor; several times we were uncertain what the protein was on our plate. That said, the cook is happy to take requests. Snorkel gear rental bit pricey.
Certified

Jan 31 - Feb 7

, Nepean, ON
2013-02-11
Loved the resort - liked its size and layout. Service was great. Food was good, but selection wasn't great and got tiresome - also we ate Gruper one night only to find out its endangered and protected in the area! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great rooms, great snorkeling, great service
The weak points
Only one restaruant - advertised 2 - food became very repetative, not much entretainment at night
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?