Decameron Baru

4.174.174.174.174.17
Decameron Baru
#1 of 10 hotels in Cartagena
4.17 based on 80 reviews
Traveller pictures (61)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Excellent Resort

, St Catharines, ON
2018-03-20
We loved this resort and felt very safe. The beach was beautiful, the rooms were nice and big and the food was amazing. It was super hot at all times during our stay. We spent most of the time in the ocean or the pool. We went twice across to the island and walked up and down Playa Blanca which was beautiful and a nice long walk. We went on two excursions and really enjoyed ourselves. We did the city tour of Cartagena and the bio-luminescent swim at night. We also enjoyed the nightly show. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We loved the food and we went to the al-a-carte restaurants multiple times. You just had to get to the lobby by 9:00am to get a reservation which wasn't a problem for us at all. The beach was awesome, there is a 400m section roped off.
The weak points
Many spanish speaking people and few english speaking people but we were able to get by. Some of the hotel staff would try and speak english but others did not know any at all. There was no free wi-fi.
Certified

Nice for the price

, Thornhill, ON
2017-03-06
Overall it was a great vacation but if they want a higher percentage of North Americans they need some more staff to speak English. I was very relaxed on this trip and just let things be and did not expect much so it was great. Service is not to a North American standards but that did not impact the trip as time was not an issue.To book the 3 restaurants was a real waste as you have to do this every morning at 7am-8am. If you have higher expectations and want amazing food and a vacation experience this is not for you, this is more of a quite de-stress in bed by 10 vacation as they have nothing around and is very isolated. Hotter than Cuba, way better than Jamaica, and nicer people than the DR, St Lucia/Aruba was more upscale and so is the price. BTW great shopping in the city vs all the others above. Would I go back to Columbia ..Yes [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are great and very happy but communication is a challenge, beaches , water and the resort is very nice except you have to like walking up hills. Rooms are clean bright and always had a good night sleep so we can repeat the day, Eat Beach Sleep.
The weak points
Someone took one of our towels on the beach , it was treated as a federal crime and they wanted to charge me $, 100s of crappy blue towel and they could not just give me another towel.Food was substandard but we did not starve as we found something to eat
Certified

Excellent Resort With Great Staff

, Scarborough, ON
2014-01-18
This is the second Decameron resort I have been to after the one in El Salvador, so I was expecting the same experience. The one in El Salvador was excellent and this one in Colombia was too with a few exceptions.

Arrival was good. We were met at the airport by reps who had packages for us. Each had forms to fill for the front desk and wrist bands. Also included were tags for our luggage. The luggage would be taken to our rooms so we did not have to do it ourselves.

The bus ride was about 90 minutes and included a trip across a canal on a barge. Some of the roads are through Cartagena and traffic wasn't bad. The road to the resort off the main road was not paved so it was a bit bumpy but not bad.

Once we arrived we were serenaded and given a fresh fruit drink. After giving the front desk our completed forms we were given our room keys, yes keys and not key cards, and a map of the resort.

The room was in Block 2 and was supposed to be an ocean view room, which it was mostly, except it was more of a pool view. The room was clean and cool as the A/C did not require a keycard to be inserted in order for it to run. The safe was an extra charge, US$21 for a week. The beds were very comfortable but the pillows were too soft for my liking. The bathroom is an open concept. There is no door to the bathroom, only a door to the toilet and the shower, no tub. The shower was nice and large with a rain shower head that worked great. There was fridge too and two 1 L water bottles, which are refreshed everyday, but no soft drinks.

The beach area is excellent. There is also another beach area just across a small river, takes a 10 second boat ride, which is a bit more secluded and has a small restaurant for snacks. Just a bit further down is a public beach which is even more beautiful but has a lot of vendors.

We didn't participate in the activities, but did see some at the main pool. Most people were older and seemed content to just relax by the pool.

The food was excellent but became repetitive. It would have been nice to have a lot more local dishes instead of the usual french fries and fried food. One disappointment was that the ice cream bar was only available twice in the week we were there.

The staff were very good there. English was not widely spoken or understood by the staff but you could manage to get by. The grounds were maintained everyday and nightly the pools were cleaned and power washed. Some nights it seemed there were not enough staff in the buffet restaurants as the tables were not cleaned for a while. We had to wait some nights waiting for a table to be cleaned or for cutlery.

As the resort is in a remote area there is not much to do right outside. Tours were available which we did. One to the Rosario Islands and another to Cartagena.

There is no free internet access, only paid wifi access and only in the lobby area. It was spotty at times but reasonable. People were Skyping with no problems.

The gift shop is overpriced as with most resorts and has very limited items.

The front desk will only exchange money, they will not give you change such as giving you smaller US bills for large US bills. One way to get around this is to ask the bartenders. They were always willing to give you their $1 bills in exchange for larger bills.

The resort is large and has lots of steps as it is built into the side of a cliff. There are no elevators so it may be a problem for people with small children or have difficulty walking long distances.

Overall I was pleased with the resort. It was not up to the standards of the Decameron in El Salvador but I was not disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-large resort, didn't feel overcrowded -smoking was not allowed in most of the public areas -excellent food -friendly staff -working A/C and hot water -lots of pools -lots of pool chairs -well maintained grounds and buildings
The weak points
-limited English by the staff -food became repetitive -small gift shop with limited items to buy -room safe was not free -some pool areas had limited shade -lots of steps may be a problem for some people -no free wifi -limited excursions
Certified

Exceeded my expectations...

, Oakville, ON
2013-04-01
My husband and I had a last minute chance to go away without our 5 year old. We read the reviews on the Decameron and decided to pass on the usual Mexico, DR, Cuba etc choices. So thrilled we did. Flight great, hotel clean and beautiful. Food perfectly good everyday. Options at hotel for activities, lounging, abundance of places to lounge (pools, beaches, peacful boardwalk in front of building #1), meals were perfect. I speak enough Spanish to get by on the basics which did help a lot at this property. There wasn't a ton of great English which was wonderful for us, maybe not if you require flunet people around all the time. ANother nice surprise (without meaning to offend anyone) was the week was spent surrounded my a small number of Canadians and the rest were local latin travellers. No Americans, Europeans or otherwise. Day trip to Cartegena was pricey but worth it for the one day ($180 CDN each). There were activities for kids but all in spanish so no English Kids Club. We paid bit extra for ocean view and loved waking up looking out our balocony from building six's top floor. We loved it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, beautiful location, warm weather day and night, decor and layout of resort
The weak points
Airport transfer (it is what it is but be ready for 90 minute drive including amusing short water transfer), not as much English as other latin countries
Certified

Royal Decameron Baru Beach

, Brampton, ON
2013-03-24
We had a great time. My husband was very hesitant about going and wasn't sure if it's safe to travel to Colombia, but he was very impressed and loved the experience. We want to tell all our families about this great resort. The people and staff are wonderful.It's a spectacular resort and very clean and well maintained. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
extremely friendly and lovely staff and locals; crystal blue water; perfect for snorkeling; very clean and well maintained; great daily activities and very good night performances including colourful beautiful costumes
The weak points
getting there from the airport is a little long and it's a rough ride (but it's worth it); needs a better variety at the lunch and dinner buffet; needs piano bar at the main lobby; no tissue boxes in the rooms; more kids activities; too many stair climbin
Certified

Definitely beyond expectations!

, Stoneycreek, ON
2013-03-24
We traveled to this resort for a week (march 15-22/ 13) with friends and absolutley loved the hotel and area. The 90 minute bus ride is worth every minute as you are at one of the most beautiful beach areas in Colombia (look up Playa Blanca- Baru). The grounds were beautful and well maintained- very lush vegetation for such a young resort. The staff at the resort were all very helpful, open and friendly, and always had a smile ready for you when you approached them. The food provided at the buffet was plentiful, hot and tasty. The a la cartes were just okay. Overall, the resort was " beyond expectations" and I would love to return there someday. A word of warning for those less mobile- the resort is built into the side of a cliff and therefore a lot of different levels (many stairs/ ramps)and no elevators. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The area is beautiful- grounds of the hotel, beach area. It is a newer resort so everything is in good condition (beach chairs, rooms, restaurants). The food was great- always plenty of choices at the buffet, a la cartes just okay.
The weak points
The distance for some of the day trips. Food-the a la cartes and the egg/ omelette sation at the buffet (minor complaints- overall no major issues)
Certified

Awesome March Break

, Schomberg,, ON
2013-03-17
We had a great vacation lots of variety of where to spend your day whether at a quiet pool, beach or cliffside. The weather was great, I never felt unsafe. The staff was friendly even when the english hadn't been developed as they have only been open 3 years. The countryside off site is not lush going to the resort and there is lots of garbage on the roadside. We have been many places, I really relaxed here. It isn't that big so the kids on the plane all met up with others as we were all going to the same place. They could take off and fine as we all kept an eye out for them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean fresh resort with amazing landscaping and pools. Awesome boat into Cartagena. Wildlife and snorkelling was good for us. The steps and walking where good to burn off the calories from the buffet which was better than most
The weak points
Needs more lighting in the bathroom for shower and mirrors our view wasn't the best. A little far from the airport will be better when the bridge is built. The island beach is not nice on the feet but the food was great.
Certified

Best Trip Ever

, Mississauga, ON
2013-01-20
This is an amazing place. Lots of variety of food. Corn and cheese balls for breakfast are delicious. We dont usually eat pasta on vacation, but the pasta hear is absolutely delicious. The food changes everyday and is always good. The water is extremely warm and crystal clear. It is very calm and there are many fish, bring a snorkel! The entertainment is great, there is always something to do whether you enjoy dancing or playing volleyball. The drinks are good quality. The bear is amazing and ice cold. They have very good scotch. Brands like jonny Walker Red Label, and Ballentine. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The resort is in fantastic condition. It is only 2 and a half years old. If you have visited the Royal Decameron in Panama or El Salvador you should definitely come here as the resort is similar definetely even higher quality but the biggest plus is the water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach is amazing weather is amazing lots of variety of food, good quality good quality drinks beautiful resort old cartagena is beautiful
The weak points
expensive excursion to cartagena 1 and a half hour ride to the resort
Certified

Very nice

, Carleton Place, ON
2013-01-18
We got very good value for the money with this vacation. However we prefer adults only resorts and this resort is mostly for families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel is very clean and food is nicely prepared and plentiful
The weak points
This hotel is very isolated and the gift shop charges 30 dollars for sunscreen.
Certified

Almost Paradise

, Mississauga, ON
2012-03-25
Great beaches with crystal water, you can even feed fishes. The food is great, very tasty and with very interesting variety. The staff is very kind and helpful. For us it is more that a 5 stars hotel. I highly recommend the spa, you can have a massage with a breath taking view to the sea. This is our second time there and we are sure there will be more. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, amazing spa, excellent food and extremely clean facilities.
The weak points
The ride to the hotel is a little bit bumpy.
Certified

Baru Isl Cartagena Columbia

, Toronto, ON
2012-03-03
The resort is only in its 2nd year.
We met Canadians who were on there 2nd trip there.I have travelled to all resorts in C/A and carribean (except Niaguara next trip)This I can say is the best. It is a resort for all types, especially families.Half of the resort residents are people from other C/A and S/A countries. I would recommend people give it a try. I will go back to this resort again and soon. Kevin Toronto. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellant resort, with very friendly staff and locals. I walked around the Island amongst the locals and felt safe. Ther was ample security in and outside the resort.Thank you you Susan Keller Itravel 20000 for you suggestion we go there. Kevin & Noreen.
The weak points
The trip from the A/port was fine on the main island, but on baru Island the roads are now rough, but in the process of being worked on and should be in good order for 2013. The ferry crossing to the Island is also fun.
Certified

Decameron Baru Beach

, Harrow, ON
2012-02-19
Overall the hotel is quite nice. Extremely clean. Rooms are big . Always places in the shade by the pools . Food was very good for an all inclusive - they were always changing it up .
The only bad thing was the 40-45 minute ride on a dirt road filled with pot holes to get there - but the bus drivers are excellent drivers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly & good food. Great weather!
The weak points
Activity pool needs better cleaning. Excursions are expensive. Airport process (customs) to leave Columbia was a pain.
Certified

Best Trip Ever!!!

, Oshawa, ON
2012-02-05
My Husband and i would definetely go back there!!! Hot everyday!! Food and service exquisite!! Breathtaking views!Snorkelling at your fingertips!!Quiet secluded island! Well planned excursions! Cant wait for next year!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Snorkelling is amazing!! The five breakwaters create a haven for fish so snorkelling at this resort is close, no need to take a special excursion to see the beautiful fish; spotted eel,tons of angel fish,pufferfish and so many more right off the beach!!
The weak points
The Stairs!!!! There were 58 stairs to the buffet, 48 stairs to our favorite pool, 39 stairs to our room....the only saving grace are all the paths and the excercise!!! So be prepared to step up!!!
Certified

The worst!! experience of my life!

, Rr2 Goderich, ON
2012-02-04
if you like low quality food and drink and rude staff this place is for you.we found a spot downtown for $40 a night and thats when our trip started.reminded me of a cattle feedlot for the poor! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
take your own booze unless you can drink swill!and expect a daily trip to town for food and do not give credit card to them. $25 per day per guest turned into $90 somehow
The weak points
4 star i think not 1 star being generous, hotel caribe 10times the place in the middle of the action not 20 miles out in the middle of nowhere
Certified

Amazing!

, Beaverton, ON
2012-01-30
So ive been to cuba and columbia was just soo beautiful. The water was clear, the beach was really soft and nice, and the heat, what can i say about the heat, it was sooo warm! Such a nice resort and there were lizards everywhere. I was definatly sad to be leaving. The people were amazig, the service was even better. But they did not speak any english so it was a bit hard to comunicate, but other than that it was fine. The food was good, i didnt get sick like last time i went on a vacation so that was good. I did enjoy our room view of the ocean aswell. The rooms were very clean and the AC definatly was working! Overall it was a great resort and had a wonderful time :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach
The weak points
They spoke no english
Certified

Paradise

, Mississuaga, ON
2012-01-28
This resort was amazing, totally worth the price, the bus ride and the plane ride. If you are looking for a nice vacation, this is the place to go! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beaches,delicious food and excellent pools.
The weak points
There were a lot of stairs.
Certified

Baru isla

, Brampton, ON
2012-01-28
Very nice hotel, for the price you can't go wrong. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice, clean, lots of space at the pools (3) beach a little over crowded but nice food ok
The weak points
Poor alcohol selection, internet only in the lobby pay per hour
Certified

Wow what a great place

, Ile Perrot, QC
2011-02-16
Great place to go, clean and friendly. stayed only one week but if I could would of stayed another in a heart beat. would highly recommend to any one. Phill Montreal Canada [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The place is new, clean and staff is very friendly. always saying HI and smiles where always on there face, the rooms and complex was spotless.
The weak points
not enough staff at the main bar at night, also bar tenders had a poor sense or organization never knew who was next to serve.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Cartagena's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?