Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
4.264.264.264.264.26
4.26 based on 19 reviews
#3 of 14 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Mazatlan
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (3)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Beautiful grounds. Annoying timeshare reps

, Laval, QC
2020-02-08
Food is good with strong Mexican influence even when it's International night. One buffet and one à la carte restaurant multiple poolside.. Never had to wait to be seated. Kelly's bar great for drinks.
Beautiful grounds. The rooms are a hit or miss - see weak points.
The timeshare reps became a nuisance really quickly; we were approached 4 times in 48 hours. One of them called our room at 8:30 in the morning with her pitch!
Guest consisted of some families but retired couples for the most part.
Very accommodating for guests with reduced mobility. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort grounds are beautiful, clean and well maintained. The entire staff is was professional and pleasant. Lunch could be ordered and delivered pool side. Lots of chairs by the pool and at the beach when we were there.
The weak points
The rooms that have not yet been renovated are in dire need. We had tiny bugs coming out of the woodwork in our first room. Second room was very nice. Why weren't given the newer room up front?? No entertainment in the evenings and nothing to do nearby.
Certified

A fabulous time!

, Fort Nelson, BC
2020-01-05
This was our 2nd stay and it was better than our 1st stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great food; friendly and helpful staff; pleasant and comfortable accommodation; great housekeeping; beautiful grounds and setting
The weak points
taxi service was poor from resort to destination - the driver did not know how to get us to our downtown destination in a satisfactory time frame. he said that it would take 15 minutes - it took 1 hour.
Certified

Our vacation.

, Chilliwack, BC
2019-02-10
The grounds are beautiful and staff are very polite. Check in and check out was very quick and easy. Pool area were also beautiful. We did not like the buffet at all. We ordered eggs at the omelet bar and could not find bacon or sausage and then found out you need to order it from your waiter.We ate at the La Bistro cafe for the rest of our stay and enjoyed it very much.One thing that really bothered us was the fact that by the time we got ready for breakfast,about 9:00 A.M. about 95 percent of the lounges were reserved with towels on them that stayed there for hours.We also found the resort was to big and it seemed every time you needed to get somewhere you had to take a golf cart. There was no form of entertainment except the guitar player that played in Kelly's bar 4 nights a week.I would like to mention Alexandro in Kelly's bar was the greatest.Also the resort was to far from town if you wanted to do anything.Overall we would not stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Vacation

, Calgary, AB
2018-05-07
Staff, rooms, pools were amazing! Food was good! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Pools!!
The weak points
Time share staff get annoying but we just ignored them after a couple of days!
Certified

Great Vacation at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

, Calgary, AB
2016-04-17
Just got back from Mazatlan, had a wonderful time at this resort. Everything about it makes me want to be back there every year. No complaints whatsoever, loved every single minute of my 7 day stay. Would highly recommend it, however if you're looking for a resort that offers evening entertainment and shows, none of it there, this would not be your resort. Can't wait to go back next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great atmosphere, extremely friendly staff, extremely clean, gorgeous grounds.
The weak points
No evening shows.
Certified

Nice Resort

, Mission, BC
2014-03-02
We stayed at this resort Jan 24 for a week . Check in was slow as they said that they had no king size beds even though it was requested. Once that was sorted it was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful well established resort
The weak points
We had a struggle to get a room with a King size bed even though it was requested.
Certified

Great Vacation

, Guelph, ON
2014-02-13
Great week in Mazatlan....Quiet resort....if you love partying and nightlife, this is not for you...this is also a timeshare but there was no pressure to buy [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, service, pool,gardens
The weak points
buffet gets a little repetitive
Certified

Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

, Walsingham, ON
2013-03-26
We traveled to this resort as a family of 2 adults and 2 children aged 13 and 9. We all agree that this was the best resort we have been to yet. The food was amazing and we loved the fact that we could order from a menu at most restaurants. It wasn't just the typical buffet you find at most all-inclusives. The drinks were all prepared with fresh fruit and juices....not simulated!! The staff was amazing with our kids and were always very attentive to all our needs. We stayed in a master suite which was very spacious for the 4 of us. It also included 2 bathrooms which is a super bonus when travelling with 3 girls!! The beach was nothing special and very rocky and rough water but we expected that due to being on the Pacific side of the country. We are not huge beach people so this did not effect us much but I did notice that the people sitting at the beach were also served by the many waiters they had taking food and drink orders. The pools were very clean and well kept. The main pool was huge with many levels and an outdoor hot tub which worked nicely to warm up later afternoon before heading to the room. The service by the waiters around the pool was top notch. I've never been to a resort where they were so diligent. The spa was to die for!! A little pricey but worth every penny. A must at this resort and allow extra time to enjoy all the facilities!! I cannot say enough good things about our experience here at this resort. We loved everything about it. I would totally recommend it!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing food and drinks. Top notch service. The spa was to die for. A must visit!! Very friendly and accommodating staff. Spacious rooms with all necessary amenities. Over all top notch resort!!!!
The weak points
Beach was nothing special. Very rocky and rough but that's too be expected on the pacific.
Certified

Good Place for a variety of tastes

, Falkland, BC
2013-03-18
We thought the place had real character. The grounds were well kept. The staff was courteous and efficient. Check-in was the longest I've ever seen anywhere - took at least thirty minutes to get us away from the front desk. No need for that. They did accommodate my daughter to have a suite adjoining to ours on the second day - that was great! We would, except for the WiFi, give them a double thumbs-up [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
jGreat staff, location, maintenance and food
The weak points
Internet access was poor for the free WiFi - only one spot and the for-pay was prohibitively expensive
Certified

Beautiful resort -- wonderful, friendly staff

, Falkland, BC
2013-03-17
We just returned from a week at the Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, and we enjoyed almost every aspect of this wonderful resort. I always read reviews before I vacation, so I'll give a breakdown of the 'good' and the 'almost good':

Almost Good;

1) Rooms; The room decor felt a bit cold and lacked a 'homey' feel, but they were very clean and were the largest sized rooms I've ever seen at a Mexican resort. Master suites have no balcony (Junior suites do), but Master suites have a bedroom separate from the sitting area. All units had a small kitchenette, and almost all units have an oceanview (ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor for a better view of the ocean)

2) Check-in -- this was really the only part of the whole vacation that was sub-standard. The check-in process took almost an hour, and it wasn't particularly busy on the day we checked in. Thankfully, the time-share people did not bother with us, as my parents were past the 'time-share buying' age, and I was travelling without my husband. Otherwise, the check-in process would have taken even longer.

Good:

1) STAFF!!! The staff at this resort was the friendliest I've ever encountered at a Mexican resort, and I've been to many. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful, and they were extremely attentive, especially at the buffet restaurant.

2) Pools -- the pools were clean and warm, and there were three pools to choose from.

3) Food -- even though there were only two restaurants at this resort, the food quality was good, especially the sushi at the Bistro. Jose (one of the waiters) did a fantasitc job and clearly enjoyed his work.

4) Grounds -- the grounds at this resort are phenomenal. We enjoyed strolling around on the various walkways, and thoroughly enjoyed the tropical feel of the place. The buildings are quite spread out (none of them is higher than 4 stories), so if you don't like to walk, this may not be the place for you. Having said that, there are golf carts that come around to pick you up if you don't feel like walking. We really enjoyed walking aound the resort, however, as it gave us the opportunity to explore the grounds. We particularly liked the various fish ponds and the flamingos.

Overall, we had a wonderful vacation and we'd definitely return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beautiful grounds, the friendly, helpful staff, and the delicious sushi.
The weak points
Check-in was very slow.
Certified

Great vacation

, Vars, ON
2013-03-14
Great service, great food, great accommodations. Wi-fi could be better.
One of the best resorts we have stayed at. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, service, cleanliness, friendly staff, great spa
The weak points
Wi-fi, beach
Certified

A True Gem

, London, ON
2013-02-07
Our vacation at the Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay was exactly what we were looking for in a winter vacation. The grounds and pools were amazing, the food outstanding, never had a bad meal, the beds comfortable and the staff in the restaurants and by the pool (especially Victor) were second to none. It is the only resort we have been to that I would return to.

Now did I learn a thing or two yes, it was not made clear to me (needs to be clearly stated somewhere) that if I booked a Master Suite opposed to a Junior Suite chances were I would NOT get a balcony or veranda, next time I would book a Junior Suite and save the money. The front desk staff were a standoffish, customer service is not there strong point, they could learn from the restaurant and pool staff. No attempt made to accommodate my requests.

Overall the resort as a whole made up for my disappointment of not having a balcony or veranda, and I would certainly return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Strong points include: Resort grounds, pool, restaurants, cleanliness, Restaurant and Pool Staff
The weak points
Weak points include: Front Desk Staff, unclear resort advertising
Certified

Such a Shame

, Rocky Mountain House, AB
2012-11-26
This was the very best in Mazatlan. Since it has changed to an AI, it has changed from the very best to another Yawn situation where the food, the staff, the entire experience has become a Mexican standard not an international standard. The focus is on selling time-shares which are far cheaper on-line as many people are trying to get out of this place. Where do the people who want an experience in luxury go now? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Still one of the best of the AI resorts
The weak points
Just another resort declining
Certified

Beautiful Resort - relaxing - worth the price

, Regina, SK
2011-02-27
We were a family of four, two adults and two children(ten year old twins)from Regina,Sask., Canada seeking a break from our busy professional lives and cold winter. We were looking for a relaxing, warm and pampered vacation. We felt we paid a premium price for this vacation during a high demand week. However our expectations were exceeded. The resort is gorgeous. The pool areas are beautiful. The grounds are a tropical garden of palms flowering bushes, waterfalls, fountains and pathways. The service was great. The food was of high quality,interesting and varied. Our compliments to the chef(s). This resort is north of the newer gold zone in Mazatlan on Emerald Bay. We enjoyed being removed from that main area and its activity. The beach was natural and great for walks and seeing the tidal changes. It was the best all inclusive experience we have had in three such good vacations. We would definately go back, and would strongly consider affiliated resorts. We were well satisfied and felt we got our money's worth. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort has beautiful grounds and pool area, fabulous food, fantastic service, and was very clean. The master suite main bedroom and bathrooms were very comfortable, spacious and well appointed. The Emerald Bay beach is natural and great for long walks
The weak points
Master suite had a lot of wasted space outside of the bedroom,lacked some furniture, and what there was was a little uncomfortable. The pull out couch was uncomfortable to sleep on.
Certified

Quiet, relaxing, heated pool

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-01-07
Had used this hotel in 2009, loved it so much that we brought the whole family for 2010 (children and grand children). The restaurant meals were excellent. Kitchinettes in the rooms came in handy for the couples with little ones. Large pools are heated, young and old enjoyed this. They also have an adult only pool and shallow pools for the little ones. Weather, meals, staff and rooms were great! Family also enjoyed the: kids club, ceramics, daily activites and beach party. Grandchildren ask every week: when are we going back. oops
Will go back in 2011. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
heated pools, adult only pool, quiet location, meals, staff, spa, rooms and balconies, long beach.
The weak points
There is no night life but you can take the shuttle into the city. We did not miss this at all. Watch out for the jellyfish on the beach.
Certified

What an experience

, Sylvan Lake, AB
2010-11-19
Superb 5 star hotel where value is certainly reflected in the prices. Not for the light of wallet nor the ones looking for excitment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great for quiet luxurious vacation
The weak points
No real swimming on the beach, way to rough
Certified

Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

, Nanaimo, BC
2010-09-30
What a great place! We went in September and had the place almost to ourselves. It was wonderful. Good service, good food and absolutely beautiful grounds. Loved the pools, the amazing beach and sleeping to the sound of waves crashing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach and quality for price.
The weak points
Sometimes customer service was a little lacking - not overly rude, just indifferent - but the waiters were all great.
Certified

Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay

, Kelowna, BC
2010-09-13
It was the off season, so much of the resort was closed. That was disappointing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Grounds
The weak points
Drinks and food were expensive, no entertainment, very rocky beach
Certified

Fabulous Resort

, Red Deer, AB
2010-06-03
This resort was absolutely beautiful. I was surprised when I arrived at how big it was and even though I'd seen pictures, they in no way showed the grounds to be anywhere near as beautiful as they were. There were stiars, walkways, overlooks, waterfalls, fountains, statues, and greenery and flowers everywhere. It was truly a paradise.

The staff was very courteous and well trained. There was always someone close by whenever you needed them. Most of all, they were all very friendly and always smiling.

The rooms are big and very comfortable, clean and well maintained. The food was delicious. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds, Staff, Rooms, Food
The weak points
Better Excursion Advertisement (pamphlets, etc)
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Mazatlan's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020